How To Make Tiled Shelf On Front Of Bathtub - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-11-2014, 02:43 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 38

How to make tiled shelf on front of bathtub

Hi, I want to make the changes in the before/after image attached here, but not sure how best to go about it. I need the tiling on the front of the tub to be flush with the left-hand wall, and would want the shelf along the front edge to be sturdy enough to support a person's weight. Would this be a fairly easy project? I'm new to DIY... Much better at building things digitally!
Attached Thumbnails
How to make tiled shelf on front of bathtub-photo2.jpg  
QCKiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-11-2014, 02:00 PM   #2
Don't WANNA do it myself

Rewards Points: 512

Build a "wall" out of 2x4's, with the vertical pieces spaced to hold the weight. I'd guess 12 inches, but you'd have to look that up. You want it the correct thickness so that

Wall thickness + backer board + thin set + tile = the depth of the alcove

Then the tile will be flush with the wall at the end. Make sure you use waterproof membrane so that the little wall is protected if the tub overflows. If the studs swell from water penetration, your tiles will pop off.

Fixing the re-muddling one room at a time...
mnp13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-11-2014, 02:29 PM   #3