Help! Toilet Flange Question - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-17-2015, 09:45 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2

Help! toilet flange question

Hey Everyone, I'm new to plumbing so I could use some help. I have a 1964 house with crawl space and I am trying to remodel my bathroom.
The bathroom had old tile with about 2" mud set. I have removed the mud and tiles.

My toilet however is now causing me problems.

When I removed the toilet I found it had been leaking due to a crack where the cast iron flange (?) connects to a lead drain pipe. (The lead pipe connects with a cast iron closet drain pipe about a foot down- this looks to be okay). So I am wondering how to fix the flange?

Can I repair the pipe somehow?
Should I get a new flange?

I plan on installing plywood then backerboard then my new tiles. I am worried that the height of the toilet flange will be too high since it was already 3/4" higher than the old tile.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

*** Notice the crack in second photo
Attached Images

1stimediyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-17-2015, 10:04 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 17,884

Whole lot easier to do what your doing if you snap off the old drain below the floor.
Install a hubless connector and run a new piece of PVC and new flange once the subfloor and tile is done so the flange is sitting even with the finished floor.
Advertisement

Old 07-21-2015, 09:39 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 225

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Whole lot easier to do what your doing if you snap off the old drain below the floor.
Install a hubless connector and run a new piece of PVC and new flange once the subfloor and tile is done so the flange is sitting even with the finished floor.