Electric Cooktop - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-17-2012, 07:49 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electric cooktop


I need to replace my cooktop and discovered the cutout measurement is more important than the size of the cooktop! I can't quite see or reach the areas to measure from inside the cabinet. There are lots of pieces of "wood" attached to other pieces. . . I can't quite see or feel the edges of the opening. I'm afraid to disconnect the entire thing to see the opening from the top. The countertop is tiles and I don't want the mess and expense of breaking them to enlarge a hole. Thanks, Patti
Patti H is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2012, 07:59 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 582
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Patti H View Post
I need to replace my cooktop and discovered the cutout measurement is more important than the size of the cooktop! I can't quite see or reach the areas to measure from inside the cabinet. There are lots of pieces of "wood" attached to other pieces. . . I can't quite see or feel the edges of the opening. I'm afraid to disconnect the entire thing to see the opening from the top. The countertop is tiles and I don't want the mess and expense of breaking them to enlarge a hole. Thanks, Patti
hi patti some cooktops if not all go by the measurements on the unit itself...example,,,if you measure 30" across your cooktop..its a 30" order...if it measure 36" then its a 36.....and it should fit your opening...how old is the existing cooktop....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2012, 08:16 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks Ben,

The old one is about 20 years. A Kenmore. I can not reach to the back of the cabinet to get a good measurement or see the sides because of stuff in the way.

The part holding the knobs is in the way on one side and I can't see or feel the edge.

I'm getting approx. measurements of 26.5 x 19.75 but the top of the cooktop is 28.5 x 20.5.

Maybe I should just call Lowe and have them deal with it.

I thought his would be easy!

Patti H is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric cooktop wiring issues kbrookst Electrical 17 04-13-2012 01:36 PM
Electric Cooktop too slow to heat coachgns Appliances 1 02-05-2011 03:45 PM
Changing 220V to 110V (hardwired) for an electric to gas cooktop switch. charleyhart Electrical 14 01-15-2011 01:12 AM
Electric Cooktop partially heating bna1dew Electrical 4 11-04-2010 01:20 AM
Electric cooktop vs. Gas cooktop Krichton General DIY Discussions 5 06-16-2008 07:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts