Dirty Work: Bathroom Fix? - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-03-2018, 06:00 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 4

Dirty Work: Bathroom Fix?

This is not explicitly related to a remodel but rather a situation that I am trying to fix/salvage.

I have an "unusual" situation on my hands. I have a custom master shower in a home that I purchased which, by all measures, is a total disaster. I've had several contractors come in to take a look. After they get past the laughing, head-scratching, and making fun of the original builder(long gone), they all seem to say something along the lines of "nothing can be done, you will need to rip all of this out."

Given that the worst case is that it all gets ripped out, I'd like to try a hail-mary attempt to fix the situation. I have no experience with home repair or wet-work in the bathroom of any sort. I know some basic terms but am not conversant in typical construction terminology so I'll apologize up front if I am remiss in my descriptions. I read the post explaining "What is Mud?" and found it interesting but not able to answer my question(s).