Direct To Stud Bath And Tub Green Board Finishing Tips And Tricks? - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-03-2012, 01:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Direct to stud bath and tub green board finishing tips and tricks?

After spending the majority of my 10 hr shift at work scouring my new favorite web site for an aswer I decided to ask. Currently replacing tub with new tub and showerwalls with with a direct to stud tub and showerwalls kit. My plan if acceptable was to use green board for the two foot section of wall above the plastic walls. My concern after reading on here was whether the greens board ran just to the nailing flange or over the flange to the lip of the wall? How do I finish this area? Im not a total newbie @dry wall finishing as I've done several room to my satisfaction but please do treat me as one so I miss no steps. This project has thrown several curve balls at me but have taken most in stride. Thank you in advance for your replies!!!!
Shmodaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-05-2012, 01:54 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 526

Welcome to the forums!

More info would help.... Manufacturer of the kit? Usually the board is run over the lip, either recess the board back-side or furr to level plain the rest of the studs connected to the lip. Above/below grade bathroom?

Did you "search" our site here--- in the white box above each page, this has been covered many times previously...

Gary
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-05-2012, 02:16 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 17,896

I add lattis to the studs so the board does not bow out where the lip is.
Set the drywall about 1/4 from the top of the unit and use caulking to fill the gap/ I use Alex 230. It's good caulking and is paintable.