Caulk - Removing Tape, Getting Unwanted Gap - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Yodaman

Old 05-31-2019, 03:50 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 6

Caulk - Removing Tape, Getting Unwanted Gap

Super noob here. I tried adding a line of caulk between my granite backsplash and painted wall. I used painters tape on the top of the backsplash and wall to create a ~1/4" gap for the caulk, with the hopes of ending up with nice straight lines. The process seemed to go well enough... until I removed the tape.

No matter what angle I tried, I ended up with obvious gaps between both surfaces and the caulk. On the wall, it looks like the caulk is "pulling away" from the wall. On the backsplash, you can see a slight gap where the tape was.

What did I do wrong? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Caulk - Removing Tape, Getting Unwanted Gap-looking-down-backsplash.jpg   Caulk - Removing Tape, Getting Unwanted Gap-looking-straight-wall.jpg  
CalvinH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-31-2019, 04:12 PM   #2
retired painter

Rewards Points: 1,426

Re: Caulk - Removing Tape, Getting Unwanted Gap

I've never used tape when caulking but many do. How soon after you applied the caulk did you remove the tape? I'm having a little trouble figuring out the one dimension pic.
mark sr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-31-2019, 04:28 PM   #3

Thanks for responding. I removed the tape right way - I smoothed the caulk with a wet finger, cleaned my hands, and then removed the tape.