80s Bathroom Refinish (Advice) - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-29-2015, 01:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 12

80s Bathroom Refinish (Advice)

First post! Have a big project to refinish our 2 bathrooms + kitchen, but focusing on master bathroom (first). I'm trying to stay low-budget because we are looking to sell/move our house in the next 1-2 years. Our house is an 80s house and bathrooms/kitchens haven't been updated. (pics below)

Master Bathroom

Cabinet Top (laminate / partial board) = 55"x 22"
Cabinet Doors (4) = 11.75" x. 22"
Flooring = 57"x58"

I'm new to this stuff, but feel like it's a good project to start. Our shower has been done professionally and high cost...about 3 years ago.

Questions?

- I'm really looking into using a counter top paint / primer kit. I see a ton out there right now. How well do they work? Is it a good solution?

- Does the countertop paint cover the creases in the laminate edges?

- Can I paint the cabinet doors? and refinish? Also, can I paint inside on the raw / non-painted particle board?

- What is the best way to remove all these 1x1 tiles?! (board underneath)
porterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-29-2015, 01:36 PM   #2

images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-30-2015, 01:44 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 4,082

Never used it myself but I've heard a couple people report good results with the Rustoleum countertop paint kit. Personally, I think I would avoid doing that in the first place.

Yes, you can paint cabinets. That said, it looks like I can see a seam - is that laminate/veneer or actual wood?
stick\shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-30-2015, 02:01 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by stick\shift View Post