Well Pressure Tank PSI Set Too High Question - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 05-07-2015, 03:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Well Pressure Tank PSI Set Too High Question


I have a 20 gallon pressure tank that is a year old, in fact the entire well was drilled exactly a year ago. The switch cuts in at 40psi and cuts out at 60psi. I seem to be getting inadequate pressure and volume when watering my lawn.

As far as what I read the pressure tank should be set 2 psi below the cut in setting. I checked the pressure in the tank and it is pressurized to 52 psi! According to the pressure gauge the switch cuts in at 40psi and cuts out at 60psi. This well and system was installed by a reputable well driller. What is the benefit having the tank set this high? As far as I understand it, which is VERY little, I should not really even be getting water out of the appliances since the tank pressure is set almost as high as the cut out setting of the switch?

I'm really confused and wondering if this is why my water seems to not come out of the hose with any significant volume or pressure. Should I release some of the air to get the tank to 38 PSI. Will this solve my problem or is this completely unrelated.

I came from a city where my constant pressure was 65 psi and the water came out at a MUCH higher pressure than even when my current pressure tank is filled to 60psi (at the gauge) now.

Thanks everyone for your input! I am dumb when it comes to this!
william7299 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2015, 04:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 259
Rewards Points: 469
Default


Turn the pump off and relieve the pressure by turning on the water, There is a bladder inside the tank that holds the air, Check what the air pressure is and set it at 38psi, 2 pounds under the cut in pressure then turn the pump back on
Jnaas2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jnaas2 For This Useful Post:
william7299 (05-07-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2015, 04:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12,791
Rewards Points: 6,584
Default


Cut the power to the well and open a valve until the gauge pressure goes to zero then check the tank pressure and adjust to 38 psi.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SeniorSitizen For This Useful Post:
william7299 (05-07-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2015, 04:33 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Ok, that was part of the problem. I didn't drain the tank before checking. After doing that it was reading 42 psi. I drained off the air until it read 38. Still not getting the pressure I'm used to.

My exterior spigot lines are on a separate run from the rest of my plumbing. Is there a booster pump I can install past the well tank to boost the pressure coming out of the spigots I water with?
william7299 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 04:33 PM   #5
Water Treatment
 
Akpsdvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,078
Rewards Points: 1,184
Default


Now when your checking the air is with the system down? or the well is off and you have drain the water out?
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 04:35 PM   #6
Water Treatment
 
Akpsdvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,078
Rewards Points: 1,184
Default


Who put the pump and the pressure tank in? The well driller?
There might be a filter of some kind between the well and the pressure tank?
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 04:43 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 14
Default


I did not intially check it with the system off. I shut the pump off, drained the system and it was reading 42psi. I bled off air until it read 38psi. The well driller installed the system. However after doing that I'm still not getting water pressure out of my hoses that I'm used to.

The water line that supplies the spigots is on it's own "run" before the whole home filter and water softener, so it splits directly off the main line just off of the pressure tank. That way we don't use softened/filtered water to water our yard and plants with. Can I install a booster pump of some kind past the pressure tank on the line feeding just the spigots?

Last edited by william7299; 05-07-2015 at 04:50 PM.
william7299 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 04:46 PM   #8
Water Treatment
 
Akpsdvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,078
Rewards Points: 1,184
Default


Then I would have then come out make sure that there is not a problem, most of the drillers around have for a time about a year or so of making things right... but that where I am not there, but check with them and you have some questions and better to get it right before some thing goes bad.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 05:00 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Thanks for everyone's input so far, I will call the well company to make sure everything is right on their end. Just wanted some additional knowledge on the subject matter.
william7299 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 05:06 PM   #10
Water Treatment
 
Akpsdvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,078
Rewards Points: 1,184
Default


Also to add to every thing, would have thought that with the new house that they could have used what is called a constant pressure pump. Most of the time that is what is going into day for most new places around here, more and more..
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 05:19 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Akpsdvan View Post
Also to add to every thing, would have thought that with the new house that they could have used what is called a constant pressure pump. Most of the time that is what is going into day for most new places around here, more and more..
With researching some things on the internet, this is what I may end up going to to suit my needs. Obviously have alot more research and education to go before I make a decision!
william7299 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 07:05 PM   #12
Water Treatment
 
Akpsdvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,078
Rewards Points: 1,184
Default


What about a photo of your current set up?
If it is a constant pressure then if your doing something it could hurt in the long run.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 07:33 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Well Pressure Tank PSI Set Too High Question-20150507_202250.jpg

Here's a picture of the current setup (hopefully I uploaded it correct). Very basic.
william7299 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 07:57 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12,791
Rewards Points: 6,584
Default


It looks to me the line to the exterior spigots is possibly 1/2" and it makes five 90 turns before it exits the basement. If it is that's not too good for maximum flow.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 08:17 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 14
Default


The line that feeds the spigots is the one that branches off to the right. It is 3/4" CPVC. The longest run has a total of 6 90's in it counting the two before it splits off (probably not good like you said).

Some more info: The well is 300ft deep (Holy cow I know) with a 1hp 10gpm well pump. The log says the pump is set at 285ft.

Thanks again everyone for brainstorming this!
william7299 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
captive air tank and water pressure bobcatnj Plumbing 6 05-12-2014 09:55 PM
Question about small propane tank and pressure darthsmozers HVAC 32 12-13-2013 06:07 AM
well pressure tank not holding at 60 psi sailor dave Plumbing 2 09-10-2013 02:31 PM
Changing High Pressure Sodium bulbs question rotteux Electrical 11 07-19-2011 10:09 PM
Pressure Tank Question? cruzplanner Plumbing 3 02-11-2009 11:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts