Water Filter Purchase - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-13-2015, 02:24 PM   #16
Water Treatment
 
Akpsdvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,078
Rewards Points: 1,184
Default


always been amazed that the 2x10 filter is sold for Whole House...
like using the 1.5 fire hose to the pump truck....

With the hardness count that you have that will be the main thing for the softener..
If the comp hardness is at 36 it should work, but your system is most likely under sized Sears.
More like a twin would really be a better choice.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2015, 09:03 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Thanks I just increased the hardness to 30 it was at 21 before.
chillz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2015, 09:03 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default


It is a kenmore sears product .... funny
chillz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2015, 10:37 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default


[/IMG][/IMG][/IMG]

Here are a few pics of the filter change last night.
chillz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 10:41 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default


[IMG][/IMG]
Attached Thumbnails
Water filter purchase-image.jpg  
chillz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 10:42 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default


[IMG][/IMG]
chillz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 10:43 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default


[IMG][/IMG]
chillz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 11:15 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,657
Rewards Points: 1,860
Default


How much iron bacteria in that water?

Suggested reading

http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/e...eria.html#prev

Last edited by Ghostmaker; 11-14-2015 at 11:18 AM.
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 01:30 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Hmmm well thanks for the link.
I don't know how much is caked on.

However I have an 80 foot well and 6 inch casing.

For a full 8 hour shock I would need 3.5 litres of regular household bleach. Does that make sense?
Or would you put more.
chillz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 03:02 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,657
Rewards Points: 1,860
Default


You need a well guy.. I'm just a plumbing guy. But there are links to other very informative brochures on that page.

http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/e...infection.html

Last edited by Ghostmaker; 11-14-2015 at 03:04 PM.
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 08:34 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Shocked the well last night.
I put a gallon of 8%bleach and a litre of 6% .i left it overnight and sprayed down the well walls.
I've been running a garden hose outside for approx 2 hours. The bleach smell is still present.
A ran the bathtub for fifteen minutes and the water is slightly Orange.
The dissolved iron is now undissolved.
I guess it's a matter of just running the water till it clears up then I turn on the house filter and softener.
chillz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 01:43 PM   #27
Water Treatment
 
Akpsdvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,078
Rewards Points: 1,184
Default


Should have run the water out side til all the chlorine was gone, not just a bit but hours if needed.
If you turned on water in the house on with out putting the softener into bypass it is most likely fouled.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 01:53 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,365
Rewards Points: 127
Default


Have you had your water tested for bacteria or contaminants ? When I did my well I was instructed to leave for two days and remove all filters. It took 24 hours to purge the chlorine for. The system.
jimn01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 02:32 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default


We check it annually for ecoli to make sure it's safe to drink. I haven't tested all of the other stuff since 2014.

I did bypass the filters and softener. I ran the water outside for 3 hours then turned on the bath to see the colour. The outside hose ran for another 3 hours until it was clear.
chillz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 02:34 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Now it has a slight tint just enough to say it's not 100 percent. I turned on the filter last night before bed and ran the dishwasher.
chillz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My hot water recirculation system is a disaster Michael Neill Plumbing 29 08-30-2019 06:15 PM
back flushing a water line. woodywoodwick Plumbing 5 10-18-2012 04:10 PM
Warm Water out of Cold Water Outlet mb0709 Plumbing 9 08-26-2012 12:59 PM
Upgrading water supply plumbing...where to locate filter? Jim S. Plumbing 3 02-06-2009 11:13 AM
low hot water pressure angus242 Plumbing 10 01-08-2009 11:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts