Troubleshooting Residential Well - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-13-2017, 02:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Unhappy

Troubleshooting residential well


Hello,

I have been "fighting" with our well (in a rural area) at a newly acquired property, and I am running out of ideas. I really hope somebody can help me with my problem.
Our well appears to be 4.5 inches, screened from 50 ft to 100 ft with 5 gpm production (at installation which was in 1978). No info at what depth the pump is installed, or which pump I have. But I saw remnants of a control box with 3-wires (yellow, black and red), no ground, and with 230-250V power supply.
The property has been abandoned for 2 years, and of course, the well did not start with flipping the switch of the power since the control box was missing the front panel.
So, I bought and replaced the pressure switch with a brand new (including replaced the brass nipple), and bought brand new control box (1/2 to 2 hp , 230V, Franklin brand, exactly what was there before). Even though I replaced all these parts the pump does not pump water. I know, you will say, YOUR PUMP does not work.
Uhhha. While I was "experimenting" and waiting for my control box to arrive, I "rigged" the connections, and voila, my pump started pumping water. I connected the black (from the power) to the black and red of the pump, and the white (with black marking) with the yellow, and the darn pump started pumping and filling up my tank. (The tank is also "shot").
My questions are: 1) when I connected properly my brand new control box, the pump did not pump. Why? and 2) when I " rigged" again the pump to start pumping, my pressure switch (brand new) did not shut the water at 50 psi. It just kept on pumping. My pressure switch is 30-50psi. Why?
D Handywoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2017, 03:13 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,298
Rewards Points: 31,904
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Troubleshooting residential well


The new control box must have a connection to the pressure somewhere. Maybe that connection is bad. Maybe the control box is not connected properly.
Without knowing exactly what you connected to what we can't help.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2017, 04:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Troubleshooting residential well


The pressure connection is good because I replaced the nipple with brand new one. And i connected the switch properly exactly as it was and exactly as instructed by the manufacturer (there is a video posted by the manufacturer how to connect).
D Handywoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2017, 04:16 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,298
Rewards Points: 31,904
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Troubleshooting residential well


We can't see your setup and connections from here. If you hooked it up the way it should be then it should run.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 04:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12,643
Rewards Points: 6,286
Default

Re: Troubleshooting residential well


I looked at my 240V submerged Franklin and this how it's wired from the pressure switch to the pump motor.

The wires from the pressure switch enter the Franklin on the right side in the picture and the wires from the Franklin to the pump motor exit from the bottom in the pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Troubleshooting residential well-water-well-franklin-control-2017.jpg  
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 04:37 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Troubleshooting residential well


Mine are even easier to figure out because the R, Y, and B are red, yellow, and black exactly as they are coming out of the well pump. And I did connect them like that. I bought the the same control box because the old relay (blue thing) had fallen from the old box in the well house. But NOTHING, no pumping. As I said, when I connected directly my power to the red/black (to one hot wire) and yellow (to second hot wire), the pump worked. However, i am worried I am going to burn the pump if this is not as designed. Plus my brand new pressure switch does not cut off the pressure at 60 psi (it is 30/50 psi switch).
D Handywoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 04:54 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12,643
Rewards Points: 6,286
Default

Re: Troubleshooting residential well


I'm accustomed to this type of response. I didn't get a E for effort in school either.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 05:10 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Unhappy

Re: Troubleshooting residential well


Any suggestion is welcome. i am going back this weekend, and will take pictures.
Meanwhile, welcome sleepless nights...
D Handywoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 10:52 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 347
Rewards Points: 382
Default

Re: Troubleshooting residential well


If I understand what you did, the reason the pump works with the "rigged" wiring is because you are bypassing the pressure switch. It seems that either the new pressure switch is not working, or something is wrong with the control.
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 11:10 AM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,179
Rewards Points: 876
Default

Re: Troubleshooting residential well


The pump and control should be wired as follows:

240 volt supply connected to L1 and L2 of the pressure switch.

M1 and M2 of the pressure switch connected to L1 and L2 of the control box

R,Y, B from the control box to the pump.

If this is how you have it wired, verify the control box is getting 240 at the L1, L2 terminals
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
well pump control box , well pump pressure switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between a garage vs. unfinished space for residential structures brandroid Building & Construction 3 05-12-2016 09:07 PM
Clarification on cam-lock usage for private residential applications spowell71 Electrical 3 01-29-2013 01:35 AM
Troubleshooting Damper Motors & Control Panel ARB HVAC 2 12-17-2012 06:46 AM
Controling a regular residential 110V/15A circuit switch (or relay) from a PC amakarevic Electrical 7 11-28-2012 10:38 AM
New OSHA Residential Construction Regulation in 2011 Bud Cline Roofing/Siding 3 09-15-2011 12:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts