Touchy Lift Station. New Pump Or Just Float Switch? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By hkstroud
  • 1 Post By Nealtw
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 08-28-2017, 09:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Touchy lift station. New pump or just float switch?


Here's the deal ...

Thirteen year old house. Lift station services only one bedroom on occasional basis, plus one bar sink almost never. VERY light usage. Lift height is 16', and original plumber actually delayed installation until he was certain the unit had that lift capacity.

Even early on, there were very rare occasions where it seemed like the float switch wasn't working, and the overfill alarm would go off. It could be during a shower, or sometimes without any water running at all. There was NO issue with improper items being flushed and jamming it up. Breaker for the lift station circuit never tripped, but if I reset the breaker anyway, the pump would start up. Happening more frequently now, and resetting the breaker won't restart the pump. And the kicker is, it will eventually just sort of fix itself and be working the next day.

Most of the time it works perfectly ... until it doesn't. Plumber wants to put in a new pump. $1350. I'm no plumber, but if the pump functions perfectly, why isn't the plumber looking at the float switch or other electrical issues, and not the pump? Or is that the standard route ... just throw parts at it until it works?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited by hidesert47; 08-28-2017 at 10:02 PM.
hidesert47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2017, 11:03 PM   #2
Member
 
hkstroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,356
Rewards Points: 6,694
Default

Re: Touchy lift station. New pump or just float switch?


Quote:
why isn't the plumber looking at the float switch or other electrical issues,
Because he is not an electrician.
I agree with you replace the switch. What do you have to loose?
Nealtw and hidesert47 like this.
__________________
Harold,
The Left Handed Widget Maker
hkstroud is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2017, 11:08 PM   #3
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 35,917
Rewards Points: 15,490
Default

Re: Touchy lift station. New pump or just float switch?


If you are just changing parts start with the cheap ones. Some breakers do not appear to be popped but they are.
hidesert47 likes this.
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2017, 06:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,698
Rewards Points: 1,942
Default

Re: Touchy lift station. New pump or just float switch?


Sounds like your resetting a GFI breaker.
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
float switch , lift station


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way switch with z wave micro switch help emax08 Electrical 3 11-01-2016 05:51 PM
3-way Switch Used to Bybass Dimmer Perry401 Electrical 3 05-14-2014 02:20 PM
Septic pump will not turn on by itself ukrkoz Plumbing 2 04-23-2013 10:38 AM
Replaced 12amp sump pump switch with 15amp switch? chaz7979 Plumbing 2 03-11-2013 03:38 PM
Wiring a receptacle for a lift station hydrogeo99 Electrical 4 08-18-2010 01:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts