Tapping In Wall After Toilet Flush - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-19-2015, 09:06 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 12

Tapping in wall after toilet flush

I have a slight tapping sound in the wall after toilet flushes and refills. Tapping sound is apparent after the fill valve shuts off. I have a Fluid Master 400a fill valve currently installed. I have since installed a new shut off valve to the toilet but I still hear the tapping. I do not think it is water hammer since it's not a loud thump. It is usually 3 or 4 light taps. This is a small house and the bathroom, shower , kitchen faucets and the hot water heater are in very close proximity to one another and all share a wall. Have copper and galvanized piping. Any idea on where to start on fixing this?
Cisco1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-19-2015, 09:25 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 3,438

It could be as simple as a loose pipe that needs securing.

Do you have any access to the pipes? Try moving them, see how loose they are. Flush the toilet and observe the pipes if you can.
jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-19-2015, 03:13 PM   #3

I don't have access so it appears I may have to open up a wall. I have read that a worn/ loose washer in the faucet can cause this? I did have a spurt of black water coming from the faucet in the bathroom recently but the water cleared up immediately.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-19-2015, 04:18 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 3,438

If its just a slight tapping as you say after the toilet fills and not really bothering anyone, I wouldn' t even worry about it.
jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 05:22 PM   #5

Rewards Points: 1,910

I think it's that little guy in the little boat.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote