Subslab Radon Suction With High Water Table - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 12-28-2015, 07:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 388
Question

Subslab Radon Suction with High Water Table


When I dig into the slab is water going to come up?
enochian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2015, 03:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,700
Rewards Points: 2,030
Default


If you feel you are going to have that high of a water table, you should start with a sump pit or two. Sump pits can be incorporated into a radon system and ensure the water level stays below the slab. Currently, I doubt the water level is right below the slab as you would be having extreme moisture problems. When was the house built?

Bud
Bud9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2015, 10:40 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 388
Default


House was built in 2014.

Already have 2 sump pits, 4 sump pumps and Generac.
enochian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2015, 10:57 AM   #4
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Greenfield Maine
Posts: 9,462
Rewards Points: 1,034
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by enochian View Post
House was built in 2014.

Already have 2 sump pits, 4 sump pumps and Generac.
Ayuh,.... Then the water level under the slab should be no higher than the water ya see in the sump pits,....

Why are ya gonna pound another hole in the slab, when ya already got 2,..??
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 02:52 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 388
Default


Because I need to have access to the sump pumps.
enochian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 04:53 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,700
Rewards Points: 2,030
Default


The details I have read about show the sump pits covered and sealed so the radon fan can pull a negative pressure below the slab. If the pit and system are installed at the same time they have lids specifically for that.

Was the plumbing for your radon system installed when the house was built?

Bud
Bud9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 05:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 388
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud9051 View Post
The details I have read about show the sump pits covered and sealed so the radon fan can pull a negative pressure below the slab. If the pit and system are installed at the same time they have lids specifically for that.
My sump pits have channels that goes to the perimeter channel.

So you wouldn't be able to get a seal anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud9051 View Post
Was the plumbing for your radon system installed when the house was built?
Haven't checked in the attic yet. I don't want to pump radon internally through the house anyway.
enochian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 05:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,700
Rewards Points: 2,030
Default


It is the plumbing below the slab that needs to be in place. If the below slab space is not sealed from the basement you will just be pumping basement air out of the house. A radon system establishes a negative pressure below the slab, including the perimeter drains and captures the gasses before they can enter the living space.

Lots of information in the internet.

Bud
Bud9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 07:26 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 388
Default


Then my Googling must be weak.

Please link to info.

Last edited by enochian; 12-29-2015 at 07:37 PM.
enochian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 09:31 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,700
Rewards Points: 2,030
Default


We must be thinking two different things. Radon mitigation is most often a sub-slab suction system and can be connected through a sump pit.
"One variation of subslab and drain tile suction is sump hole suction. Often, when a house with a basement has a sump pump to remove unwanted water, the sump can be capped so that it can continue to drain water and serve as the location for a radon suction pipe." From http://www.radon.com/pubs/consguid.html

That's just one, search "radon system design" for many more.

Bud
Bud9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 09:41 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 388
Default



Last edited by enochian; 12-29-2015 at 09:57 PM.
enochian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chasing Ghosts - Phantom Water Leak FrozenMeatballs Plumbing 7 10-29-2014 06:03 PM
Low hot water pressure crebive Plumbing 38 02-26-2013 12:26 AM
Need help figuring out walk-out basement water intrusion issue toomanypets General DIY Discussions 18 08-29-2011 08:34 PM
Solar hot water indatom123 Green Home Improvement 0 12-19-2010 12:01 AM
water borehole question joeuser General DIY Discussions 2 04-18-2010 10:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts