Shower Head Drips When Spout Running - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Wildbill7145
  • 1 Post By Power-
  • 1 Post By hkstroud

Old 10-22-2016, 09:25 PM   #1
Electrical Contractor

Rewards Points: 312

Shower head drips when spout running

Firstly, pardon my terms (plumbing vocabulary) as I'll likely call some things by stupid names...I am an electrician, not a plumber.

I just finished renovating my upstairs bathroom. All works great, but when the bathtub spout is used to fill the tub, water comes out of the shower head.

Now, I understand there's a relationship between the internal resistance to the diverter spout versus the head pressure required to force water up through the vertical shower head pipe.

Understandably, my wife would like an answer to this.

I cannot open the plumbing wall behind the tub/shower's fixtures. We also spent a pile of money (Grohe) on these fixtures.....she doesn't want to remove the diverter spout for another one with more "free" flow, or less resistance. And she doesn't want me to install something ahead of the bathroom's supply plumbing to reduce the city pressure slightly (approx. 70psi).

All I can think of is getting one of these manually operable chrome ball valves that screw onto the shower arm (before shower head).

Any other idea's?

Last edited by Power-; 10-22-2016 at 09:27 PM. Reason: Typo
Power- is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-22-2016, 10:35 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 6,416

Re: Shower head drips when spout running

Show picture. Is diverter on the spout or on the wall?

Suggest removing spout. It should either screw off or be remove by loosening set screw underneath. Turn on water and see if water comes out shower head. If not, inspect spout and diverter valve for blockage.