Relocating Kitchen Drain - Help - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes

Old 12-11-2016, 06:00 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 46

Relocating Kitchen Drain - Help

I am currently remodelling my kitchen and would like to re-route my kitchen drain. I am a rookie in terms of plumbing knowledge.

My existing kitchen drain is 1-1/2" copper and goes through a kitchen base cabinet, rendering that space pretty much useless. I will like to place a cabinet right where the existing drain is. The sink will be at the same location as before.

I would like to have the horizontal run in the basement, and just cap the copper pipe in the kitchen.

I have the following questions:

1) I am planning on running ABS similar to this. Do I have the correct parts? Will I have enough ventilation? (I will cap the ends of the wyes)

2) Is this layout ok for under the sink? (I took this photo from IKEA).

3) Can MPS be enough to sweat and solder a 1-1/2" CU fitting onto the existing copper run? Any tricks or hints? I just have a standard flint start(?) nozzle.

Thanks. Any help, direction or guidance is greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Relocating Kitchen Drain - Help-img_20161121_204724.jpg   Relocating Kitchen Drain - Help-img_20161121_204827.jpg   Relocating Kitchen Drain - Help-img_20161128_201319_mod.jpg   Relocating Kitchen Drain - Help-img_20161123_190347_mod.jpg   Relocating Kitchen Drain - Help-img_20161202_110852.jpg  

Relocating Kitchen Drain - Help-img_20161211_170718.jpg  
zaius is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-11-2016, 07:04 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 6,694

Re: Relocating Kitchen Drain - Help

Quote:
1) I am planning on running ABS similar to this. Do I have the correct parts? Will I have enough ventilation? (I will cap the ends of the wyes)