Propane Tank Pressure Regulator Gauge? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 02-16-2016, 06:32 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 94
Default

Propane Tank Pressure Regulator Gauge?


Hi all,

I bought this house back in September and it has a gas fire place, there are 2 50 gal propane tanks in the back yard and I believe they are empty, im just trying to get further clarification of the gauge on top of the splitter regulator. If the tanks were completely empty would the indicator be completely red (not leave the bit of green at the bottom). Im sure its empty or too low to light the pilot, just want to verify.

Thanks,
-Drew


https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bw4...ew?usp=sharing
jeckel7234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2016, 07:06 AM   #2
Member
 
WhatRnsdownhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,104
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default


that type of guage is not going to be accurate to that degree if there are only a few gallons left in the tank..get them filled...you can crack open a fitting on the copper line to see if anything comes out, but most likely the tanks ar MT..........
WhatRnsdownhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2016, 07:39 AM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,086
Rewards Points: 796
Default


That is not a gauge. It is an indicator the tank the lever is pointing to is empty. Turn the lever toward the other tank, if it stays red they are both empty.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2016, 12:23 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 94
Default


that indicator/gauge doesn't really move for either tank. So ill be taking them this weekend to get filled.

Thanks
jeckel7234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 12:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 285
Rewards Points: 459
Default


Yep, that's an auto-changeover regulator and like rjniles said, only indicates if the tank selected is empty.

The proper way to use those is to open both tanks and point the selector to the tank you'd like to deplete first. Periodically check the indicator and once red, flip the selector to the other tank. At that point, the indicator should pop back up to green with an audible "pffft" lock-up noise. Once that happens, it's safe to remove the empty tank for refill while the other tank is still operating. You can cycle back and forth indefinitely and never run out of gas.

Last edited by Nick DIY; 02-17-2016 at 12:51 PM.
Nick DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nick DIY For This Useful Post:
SeniorSitizen (02-17-2016)
Old 02-17-2016, 01:54 PM   #6
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Greenfield Maine
Posts: 9,464
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick DIY View Post
Yep, that's an auto-changeover regulator and like rjniles said, only indicates if the tank selected is empty.

The proper way to use those is to open both tanks and point the selector to the tank you'd like to deplete first. Periodically check the indicator and once red, flip the selector to the other tank. At that point, the indicator should pop back up to green with an audible "pffft" lock-up noise. Once that happens, it's safe to remove the empty tank for refill while the other tank is still operating. You can cycle back and forth indefinitely and never run out of gas.
Ayuh,.... Those were common back in the early '70s,....

I pushed/ hauled/ drug the tanks, helpin' the Gas Man outa high school, back when the tanks were changed, insteada filled in-place,....

I've got the flip-valve regulator on this house's set-up now,....
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 02:01 PM   #7
Member
 
WhatRnsdownhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,104
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default


when you get the tanks filled ask if they can put a newer guage on to show how full the tanks are..not just when empty..one on each tank..
WhatRnsdownhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
well pressure switch NJ Lady Plumbing 32 12-16-2013 03:48 PM
Question about small propane tank and pressure darthsmozers HVAC 32 12-13-2013 06:07 AM
Low water pressure (hot water only) - temp fix when I shut off water supply to tank skilletrx Plumbing 5 11-15-2012 07:37 AM
well pump, pressure tank issue?? fumbrunner Plumbing 2 11-26-2011 08:51 PM
pressure tank problem? steel Plumbing 14 07-03-2008 02:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts