Old Septic Tank - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 09-20-2015, 08:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 109
Default

old septic tank


I had my old metal septic tank in my yard collapse last night after some heavy rain. The hole is 4'x4'x4'.What is going to be the best way to fill this in. This has been happening to homes in the area as all these homes were built in the 50's
hitmehhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2015, 08:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,910
Rewards Points: 18,962
Default


Was it still in use, or are you now on city sewer?
If it's no longer used around here where made to cut the whole top out, pump out any water and back fill with fill dirt.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2015, 08:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 109
Default


We are on city water and it is not used . I was thinking of filling most of it with crushed stone and the remaining top layer with some topsoil
hitmehhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2015, 08:29 AM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,187
Rewards Points: 884
Default


No on the stone. The soil will keep washing down and leave low spots. Fill with plain dirt and then the top soil. If you are paying to have it hauled, it might be cheaper to use all good soil than paying for 2 different loads.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 08:33 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 109
Default


How about some sand in the bottom before the dirt for some absorbtion
hitmehhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 08:42 AM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,187
Rewards Points: 884
Default


If you use sand you better use at least a foot of topsoil. Else the soil will dry out rapidly and it will be hard to grow grass. Better to try to approximate what is under your existing topsoil.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 08:47 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 109
Default


I was just thinking a small amount of sand at the bottom for a good base
hitmehhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 08:52 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,910
Rewards Points: 18,962
Default


Sand is not a good base, it's non compactable.
Cheap fill dirt will work fine.
I've had it done to old oil tanks, crock wells and steel septic tanks a few times and it was never an issue.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 07:20 PM   #9
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Greenfield Maine
Posts: 9,559
Rewards Points: 1,226
Default


Quote:
Cheap fill dirt will work fine.
Ayuh,.... Sub-soils with abit of clay base,....

'course, I'd be doin' it from the seat of a backhoe, pack the junk dirt in as good, 'n tight as ya can, the tank holds water, so pack the space,...

Then cover with a couple inches of top dirt, 'n scatter some quick-green,...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 08:30 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 4,367
Rewards Points: 8,651
Default


I might have used whatever the neighbors wanted to get rid of plus whatever spare dirt they had to cap it with.
__________________
Colbyt
Retired drapery and home furnishings installer.
Fact: World-wide 96.5% of Covid-19 victims fully recover
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 11:58 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 324
Default


I had to fill one in once, having found it while building a fence--first I used all the unwanted dirt & broken concrete pieces that were on site; that got it about half full, then got some fill hauled in by a local earthmoving guy when he was working nearby, he used his machine to pack it all down as well. It was the cheapest way to do the job.
mgp roofing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 06:09 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 109
Default


I am having some soil dropped off today to get this hole filled. I ordered 3 yards I hope it's enough

Last edited by hitmehhh; 09-22-2015 at 06:16 AM. Reason: adding extra comment
hitmehhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 06:37 AM   #13
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,187
Rewards Points: 884
Default


1000 gallons =133.7 cu ft. = approx. 5 cu yds.

If the tank is 1000 gallon (common size), you are short
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 06:50 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 109
Default


The hole is approx. 4' diameter and 4 feet deep
hitmehhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 06:52 AM   #15
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,187
Rewards Points: 884
Default


About 50 cu ft or 2 yards.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Septic Tank davemax Plumbing 3 07-08-2014 05:46 PM
rain water entry direct into septic tank? denemante Plumbing 7 03-13-2013 02:52 PM
septic tank problems. littles Plumbing 1 02-24-2010 09:30 PM
Garage over Septic tank and Leach lines canyonbc Building & Construction 11 01-13-2010 10:48 PM
Magnolia tree + septic tank question/problem Jemo General DIY Discussions 5 01-18-2007 09:08 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts