New Shallow Well Problems - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 03-04-2016, 04:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Default

new shallow well problems


I just installed a shallow well for irrigation. The well is 30' deep and i get water at 18'. Running one hose with open no more than 3/4 it has fine pressure, if i open it fully then the water pressure drops and the gauge drops to about 2psi. It never loses prime for i can close the bib and it will jump back up.
well.newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2016, 04:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,815
Rewards Points: 18,772
Default


Need more info on what pump your using, what size lines, is there a pressure tank, ECT.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2016, 05:36 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,151
Rewards Points: 31,614
Blog Entries: 11
Default


If the GPH (gallons per hour) of the pump is less than the GPH of water used the pressure will drop.
Also check the water level in the well when the pump has been running. It be dropping too low.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-05-2016, 10:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Default


It it a 3/4 (hp) with a 5 gallon pressure tank, 1 1/4" well pipe reduced to 1" after the check valve. The specifics of the pump is 920 gph, 98' head lift, 26' suction head lift...the pump never loses prime, just when opening the hose fully it sounds like the pump starts cavitating until i close it some then its ok, just not full pressure..it took 2min 13sec, to fill 5gallons
well.newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 09:10 AM   #5
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,151
Rewards Points: 31,614
Blog Entries: 11
Default


You need to check the water level in the well when the pump is running.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2016, 08:51 AM   #6
Member
 
SHEPLMBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 178
Default


pump could be too powerful for what the well recovers. Sometimes bigger isn't always better.
SHEPLMBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Problems l008com PC Repairs & Upgrades 4 06-25-2016 09:17 AM
Power problems on second floor, first floor is fine rarken1 Electrical 21 05-16-2015 11:42 AM
Hot water problems - not sure what's causing it ngk Plumbing 6 03-29-2013 06:42 PM
Drywall problems in new house BettyCv Building & Construction 39 05-28-2010 01:51 PM
Are you having ice problems? Grumpy Roofing/Siding 27 02-17-2008 03:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts