Need Help Solvent-welding 4" PVC - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-14-2016, 09:09 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 331
Need help solvent-welding 4" PVC

This is a pretty long post. Sorry but I don't know what info is relevant and what isn't so I'm including all of it.

I am in the middle of a project to replace some 4" cracked cast iron sewer pipe with PVC. This is my first time working with PVC cement and the 4" sized pipe.

I bought Oatey 8oz Heavy-Duty Cement from Home Depot, and the Oatey purple primer. I watched the
on youtube, and also read Weld-On's Solvent Welding Guide (the 2013 version with real pics and not the cartoons).

I tried, twice, to connect two 4 inch PVC 45 degree street fittings together. In both instances I followed the written directions and the video directions and did what they did. I chamfered the spigot (pipe-end) 3/32 10-15 degrees using deburring tool Reed DEB4. I applied primer to hub then spigot then back to hub. Then I applied cement --liberally-- to spigot then hub then spigot again. I worked quickly, quicker than in the video.

The first time I got the one fitting while rotating into the other barely an inch before it just stopped moving. No amount of strength could get it moving. And I'm telling you I put my all into it. The second time (different fittings) I got it in all the way but only after putting all my weight on it, literally. But I couldn't turn or move it to the angle I wanted.

Here's a pic of the first time and one of the second time. The first time there's a huge gap and the second time there is a 3/16" gap but I think that is normal since the hub is tapered. The little bits of plastic are from me cutting it up with my miter saw afterwards.

If you've made it this far thank you for reading, I really appreciate it!