Navien NPE-240A Question. - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 10-12-2016, 08:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Navien NPE-240A Question.


I'm installing a Navien NPE-240A and had a question about the internal/external re-circulation modes. I'm running a re-circulation line, do I use "internal" re-circulation mode or "external"?

Thank you!
Mike
mik123je is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-12-2016, 10:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Navien NPE-240A Question.


External mode.

Pages 21-23 in the manual. You have to close the internal recirc valve and set the dip switches accordingly. (number 1= off, number 2 = on)

Cheers!

Last edited by supers05; 10-12-2016 at 10:25 PM.
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-13-2016, 06:02 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Re: Navien NPE-240A Question.


Thank you! One more thing, seeing that the re-circulation line is considered a closed loop system should that have a 2 gal. expansion tank on it as well?

Thanks
mik123je is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-13-2016, 08:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Navien NPE-240A Question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mik123je View Post
Thank you! One more thing, seeing that the re-circulation line is considered a closed loop system should that have a 2 gal. expansion tank on it as well?

Thanks
I'm not familiar with expansion tank sizing, but yes, there should be one somewhere on the hot side. (even if you don't use the recirc loop, there's a check valve in the inlet, so it needs one)

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2016, 04:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,658
Rewards Points: 1,862
Default

Re: Navien NPE-240A Question.


Strange never required an expansion tank on a on demand hot water heater. Because it is only producing hot water when a valve is open. So no pressure can develop. But each area his own I guess.
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2016, 05:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Navien NPE-240A Question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghostmaker View Post
Strange never required an expansion tank on a on demand hot water heater. Because it is only producing hot water when a valve is open. So no pressure can develop. But each area his own I guess.
These are often used for combi units. (both hot water and space heating)

You're right, if it's only a instant hot water heater without a recirc line, you should be fine without an expansion tank.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2016, 04:25 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Re: Navien NPE-240A Question.


Need to fill the condensate trap? Pour water down the exhaust pipe?

Thanks
mik123je is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2016, 07:12 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Re: Navien NPE-240A Question.


Well...she is all fired up and running like a dream! Thanks for all the help!

Mike
mik123je is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 09:47 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Navien NPE-240A Question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mik123je View Post
Need to fill the condensate trap? Pour water down the exhaust pipe?

Thanks
Sorry, I didn't see it in time. Not that I know of. They condensate almost immediately. (you'll know if you forget to connect the drain line, lol) I've never worried about it. They usually burn real nice and clean at the beginning too, so CO is usually way down. (usually 3-10ppm) Not much to worry about.

I'm glad its all working for you. They are real easy to install and get going. Fixing them.... That's a different story, lol.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Navien tankless waterheater exhaust pipe freezing robo11 Plumbing 15 01-16-2015 07:32 PM
Navien 240a trish paris Plumbing 5 06-03-2013 12:42 PM
Another Aluminum Siding prep question aribert Painting 6 03-14-2013 01:48 PM
condensing tankless water heater: navien, noritz, bosch rny1diyc Plumbing 0 09-07-2012 04:48 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts