I Think Whoever Installed The Drain In My Shower Used Parts For A Kitchen Sink. Help! - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By chandler48
  • 1 Post By RRH
  • 2 Post By chandler48
  • 1 Post By TheEplumber
  • 1 Post By Ghostmaker

Old 10-07-2017, 08:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 207

I think whoever installed the drain in my shower used parts for a kitchen sink. Help!

I noticed there was a small leak in the ceiling so I removed the access panel for my tub/shower that said genius (thankfully) installed and everything looks wrong. I narrowed down (pretty sure) the leak to water getting behind the flange in my tub drain. I have a lot of experience with plumbing so I dont think this should be too difficult and the ceiling is already kind of messed up so I don't mind opening it up, but...can anyone verify what the hell is actually going on?

I'd really appreciate any tips or advice! Here are some pics of this disaster. I'm really not sure how water was even able to drain properly with it being set up the way it is. Thanks a ton.
amateurplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-07-2017, 09:47 PM   #2
RRH

Rewards Points: 1,472

Re: I think whoever installed the drain in my shower used parts for a kitchen sink. H

Unless I missed something you just have the flange leaking.
What else are you saying is wrong?

Should be able to see where the water is coming from.

So remove the flange and add new plumbers putty and tighten. Also check the gasket on the shoe.

I myself hate those types and would just put in a new trip lever setup.
Has the strainer so less cloggs

Last edited by RRH; 10-07-2017 at 09:50 PM.
RRH is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-08-2017, 12:10 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 207