Does This Look Right? (toilet/bathroom Remodel) - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 09-25-2015, 07:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Exclamation

Does this look right? (toilet/bathroom remodel)


I have a contractor helping remodel my bathroom after discovering a leak.

We are moving the toilet approximately 2-3 feet to allow for a stand up shower once the tub is removed.

The contractor has so far, cut through the foundation to expose all waterlines and plumbing necessary to move the toilet. The current state of the job is attached in the photos below.

My question is, the way in which the toilet drain is currently sitting doesn't look right in reference to what I've read so far. If you can tell by the photos, the pipe is currently set up to drain from the toilet which runs down, then back up to connect with a larger pipe which all the waste runs.

My limited research says I should have a "slope of at least 1/4" per running foot". This is by far the polar opposite. Does anyone know if this is something I should be concerned with? (concerned about the flow if you know what I mean)

Thank you for any and all comments or suggestions.
Attached Thumbnails
Does this look right? (toilet/bathroom remodel)-img_4335.jpg   Does this look right? (toilet/bathroom remodel)-img_4332.jpg   Does this look right? (toilet/bathroom remodel)-img_4333.jpg   Does this look right? (toilet/bathroom remodel)-img_4334.jpg   Does this look right? (toilet/bathroom remodel)-img_4331.jpg  


Last edited by GoGators23; 09-25-2015 at 07:20 PM.
GoGators23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-25-2015, 07:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,905
Rewards Points: 18,952
Default


Poop does not run up hill.
What's the deal with the flex lines?
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-25-2015, 07:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,921
Rewards Points: 278
Default


You need a real plumber. That's some fine hackery going on.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to djlandkpl For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (09-25-2015), SHR Plumber (09-26-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-25-2015, 07:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 722
Rewards Points: 1,414
Default


I am not a professional, but it doesn't look right to me either. While each fitting has a single trap where you can expect waste to go down and come back up through water, even if this worked it would act as a *second* trap, after the toilet (which is the first trap). IIRC double-trapping is prohibited by code.

Edit: I suppose it is possible someone put this in as a temporary trap so there aren't sewer gases coming up into the house while they're working. This would be a weird way to close the line temporarily, but possible.
Tom738 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 07:29 PM   #5
Member
 
ZTMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Mountain Pa
Posts: 1,959
Rewards Points: 620
Default


Appears to be a temporary set up so the customer could have water overnight
ZTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 07:29 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default


Thank you joecaption for your comment.

I didn't think poop defied gravity!

I'm not sure what's going on with the flex lines. I'm pretty certain those are being replaced with copper before concrete is poured. It was temporary to keep running water while we were in the house and since he beat the copper piper to hell getting the concrete out.

This current situation is making me nervous!

WTF?
GoGators23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 07:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default


Good point Tom738 - It may be a temp fix for now... but again odd way to do it especially since he glued it all in?
GoGators23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 07:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,905
Rewards Points: 18,952
Default


If that is copper pipe run through the slab it's going to fail at some point.
Most have failed and leaked long ago and where rerouted through the walls, and through the attic.
How it's done depends on where you are, but there's no location mentioned so we have to guess.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 07:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,921
Rewards Points: 278
Default


Looks to me like more digging is needed. There's another vent or drain line in the path of the toilet piping that needs to be rerouted.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 08:41 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 582
Default


get that contractor out of your house NOW....that is not even a hack job..a hack job would be better.... he don't have a clue....sorry for being so blunt...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (09-25-2015), SHR Plumber (09-26-2015)
Old 09-25-2015, 09:27 PM   #11
Plumber
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 11,429
Rewards Points: 240
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
get that contractor out of your house NOW....that is not even a hack job..a hack job would be better.... he don't have a clue....sorry for being so blunt...
I couldn't agree more! You have more violations in that bathroom than I've seen in a long time. Don't let him back in.
Better yet, ask to see his license- I bet he doesn't have one.....
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TheEplumber For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (09-26-2015), SHR Plumber (09-26-2015)
Old 09-26-2015, 07:29 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,690
Rewards Points: 1,926
Default


NO NO AND HECK NO! Your being ripped off fire the clown!!!

Do you not have a building department in your area or did you the owner decide to save money and not pull permits?

P.S. You cannot glue the ABS to the white PVC in any way in any code.

Last edited by Ghostmaker; 09-26-2015 at 07:32 AM.
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ghostmaker For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (09-26-2015)
Old 09-26-2015, 08:23 AM   #13
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 14,707
Rewards Points: 18,404
Blog Entries: 2
Default


I'm not a plumbing guy but even I can tell that is all wrong
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 08:43 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default


I truly appreciate all the comments. So I am in Texas and someone mentioned that the use of copper piping covered in concrete will fail, what is it I am suppose to use? Is what there now sufficient?

Also, sharkbite? Anyone use these for under foundation jobs?

Lastly, anyone here from Austin, Texas and want to give me a bid?

(I feel like I'm up **** creek)
GoGators23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 11:51 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,690
Rewards Points: 1,926
Default


Any copper joints that are buried in the ground you will need to braze them now not solder them. Still fire the clown. Pull your permit and contact your local building department for the list of registered plumbing contractors. Then if you get a chance you may ask the plumbing inspector he may give you a few good un's to call.

Last edited by Ghostmaker; 09-26-2015 at 11:54 AM.
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remodel Can Housings For Plaster Ceilings BigJimmy Electrical 4 04-21-2014 06:26 AM
Anyone real familiar with Halo IC 6" Remodel housing? zr800 Electrical 3 01-14-2014 12:01 PM
Remodel vs. repair bathroom slab on grade JCTeacher Plumbing 3 04-15-2012 05:54 AM
Insulation maitenance after remodel k2000lbs Insulation 10 02-19-2012 10:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts