Best PEX System - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree9Likes
  • 1 Post By rjniles
  • 1 Post By chandler48
  • 3 Post By TheEplumber
  • 1 Post By RRH
  • 1 Post By Bondo
  • 1 Post By ktownskier
  • 1 Post By Fisher1871

Old 11-15-2019, 12:50 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 86

best PEX system

So this might open up a can of worms, but I'm fairly new to PEX having always gone the copper route. I'm currently building my own house and am looking at investing in a PEX system and am wondering what you would recommend? My local supplier rents the tools for most of the different systems, but I'm not adverse to just buying something (it's a lot cheaper than hiring someone, and I can always resell it when I'm done).

When I've observed other people doing this it seems a lot of people are using the expansion system (Wirsbo) with the plastic rings and pex-a tubing and the plastic fittings. I've also seen people use brass fittings with that wirsbo system but I have no idea why because they're crazy more expensive... A couple guys I've seen use the crimp system.
Rszimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-15-2019, 01:33 PM   #2
Remodel and New Build GC

Rewards Points: 528

Re: best PEX system

I've used both the copper crimp and the stainless clamp type....both worked fine. Between the two, I liked the stainless clamp primaily for it's ability to get in tight spaced verse the big lever required in the copper crimp.

But I've heard great things about the wisbro system...apart from the $500 tool.

I think if I was going to do a whole house, I would probably invest in the tool...especially if I expected to use it in other work. It appears a little more full proof than the other systems.