Aclove Tub Shower With Handheld: What Valves Do I Need? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-09-2015, 09:57 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 22

aclove tub shower with handheld: what valves do I need?

Im an electrician and not a plumber. I've done basic plumbing. However the manufacturers websites like delta and moen aren't laid out for trades people. They are all flash and awe with no real info.

Anyways, I am installing a standard 60x30 alcove tub setup as a tub/shower. My wife has stated a handheld is a requirement. I would like to install a handheld shower bar instead of it being attached to the main shower head.

something like this....

I would also prefer to have an in-wall valve control between the main shower head and handheld instead of a thread on diverter on the shower head arm.

For example....Say I am going with a delta tub/shower kit which includes the shower head, valve body and trim and the tub spout. Can I simply purchase and install a delta 3 position valve on the shower head output side of the main valve?

Also, does any manufacturer offer a tub shower setup that doesn't have the diverter on the tub spout?
Sayn3ver is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-10-2015, 05:03 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,852

Yes you can. Just make sure your hand held has a back flow on it to protect your water from contamination. Easy to test remove the hand hold and suck where the house attaches. You should not be able to do this. If you can you will need a vacuum breaker installed.
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-10-2015, 07:20 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 22