Mice Coming In Through Floor Under Kitchen Sink? - Pest Control - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Pest Control

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-27-2015, 03:02 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2

Mice coming in through floor under kitchen sink?

Hi all! New here, first-time homeowner, and on moving day Saturday I discovered "evidence" of a mouse problem in my new home's kitchen. The house is 115 years old, and in the seller's disclosure the previous owner did tell us that the pipes under the kitchen sink had leaked at one time. We found not only rust stains, but the fact that the metal floor into which the pipes go was almost completely rotted out due to the rust. As most of the mouse droppings have been found in the cabinets and drawers immediately surrounding the sink, I figure that's where the mice are getting in. I can't post a picture since this is my first time but it's a decent-sized hole. I'm wondering if steel wool and insulating foam will be enough?

I have NOT seen droppings anywhere else. There's also some ant issues in the kitchen, which I'm taking care of with the Terro liquid ant baits. I expect that problem to resolve itself in a few more days, as I've had really good luck with them in the past. As of right now, though, I don't want to put any plates or food into the cabinets. We have a cat, but so far he hasn't caught anything (that we've seen).

What can I do about the floor of this cabinet? Although we do plan to replace them eventually, new cabinets aren't in the budget at the moment. The previous owner has slabs of metal covering the hole but there's still a good amount of space. Any ideas for a budget-friendly, newbie DIY fix?

Thanks
ckelley116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-28-2015, 09:07 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,588