Ants On Countertops, Etc. Not Fire, Not Carpenter - Pest Control - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Pest Control

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree11Likes

Old 04-04-2019, 11:22 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 3,342

Ants on countertops, etc. not fire, not carpenter

I thought I'd post this, since everyone I know gets an ant problem once in a while. By that I mean a whole bunch of little ants get into your or your pets' food (or both), on the floor, counter, or cupboard.

I'm not a professional pest controller; if you are and disagree with what I say here, say so and tell me why.

As the title shows, this isn't about "Red Imported Fire Ants" or Carpenter Ants; they're literally different animals. The subject is those little ants that get into either sweet stuff or greasy stuff, get all over it, and gross everyone out.

There are a bunch of ant species, and some of them like our food, too. Some like sweets, some like "grease" i.e., meat, like bacon. They live in underground nests in giant colonies which are really huge families. The mothers are called queens and lay eggs, most of which hatch into sterile female "workers" who have no wings.

To find food, "foraging columns" will sally forth from a colony in various directions, crawling through everything to find something good to eat. When an ant does find something, she hurries home with the good news and soon a column of ants is coming to take off bits of whatever it is. (I think they use chemicals, as opposed to saying "let's eat girls!" but they do communicate, that's pretty clear.) This is why they seem to just pop up again and again, even after you've "gotten rid of them" before. (You haven't.)

And, if what they find is your or your pet's food, you get annoyed.