What To Put Under The Waterproofing Membrane. - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 12:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What to put under the waterproofing membrane.


Hey
I have this question stuck in my head. What kind of adhesive do you use to make the waterproofing membrane for tiling to stick onto the floor.
TurboDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2012, 01:34 PM   #2
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 7,174
Default


Check with the maker---modified thinset is used by most--one maker only wants unmodified under their brand--

Let us know the exact product you are considering and someone here should be able to help.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2012, 01:57 PM   #3
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 6,039
Rewards Points: 780
Default


Turbo,

It's not clear what it is you're doing, please xplain. By the title I first thought you're building a shower or something that requires waterproofing. Mike thinks in another direction.

Jaz
__________________
TILE GUY - retired- TROY, MI - Method & Product suitability consulting.

MARBLE from ITALY & GREECE -PERLATO-PERLATINO-BOTTICINO-THASSOS-SIVEC-VOLAKAS-CALACATTA- NAXOS-Slabs-Tiles-Custom containers shipped to you - [email protected]
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JazMan For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (01-21-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2012, 12:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default


I'm wanting to tile up the floors on my powder room and from me watching some Holmes on Holmes and Disaster DIY, they use a water-proofing membrane on the washroom floors. They just dont say what adhesive they use to stick the membrane on the floor.
TurboDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:35 PM   #5
Pro
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 1,020
Rewards Points: 502
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboDIYer
I'm wanting to tile up the floors on my powder room and from me watching some Holmes on Holmes and Disaster DIY, they use a water-proofing membrane on the washroom floors. They just dont say what adhesive they use to stick the membrane on the floor.

I think they place the membrane in the bed of thinset on the shows.
Sounds like your making a wetbed
Dont forget if you have a doorway to the room you need to install a saddle as well.
JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:35 PM   #6
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 6,039
Rewards Points: 780
Default


They use a lot of Ditra uncoupling membrane, which can also be used to (somewhat), waterproof, a floor. You install it using a 'substrate-appropriate" thinset. Over ply you'd have to use a modified/polymer mortar, over concrete they recommend unmodified. Ditra is orange in color and has a waffle looking surface.

Note that simply using Ditra does not completely waterproof the room. You'd have to flash it up the wall and build a curb in the doorway like a shower to make it waterproof. However it will protect most of the subfloor under Ditra. Its main function is to uncouple the floor from the tile work so nothing bad happen when the floor shrinks and expands.

Floors do not require special waterproofing, but Ditra is a great product that does a good job.

Quote:
Sounds like you're making a wetbed
I don't get that impression at all. What makes you think Turbo is planning the 1" or thicker mud bed?

Jaz
__________________
TILE GUY - retired- TROY, MI - Method & Product suitability consulting.

MARBLE from ITALY & GREECE -PERLATO-PERLATINO-BOTTICINO-THASSOS-SIVEC-VOLAKAS-CALACATTA- NAXOS-Slabs-Tiles-Custom containers shipped to you - [email protected]

Last edited by JazMan; 01-22-2012 at 12:39 PM.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 01:06 PM   #7
Pro
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 1,020
Rewards Points: 502
Default


Because he wants to use ditra or what turbo is describing as so like as seen on tv and like you have described to go up the wall that's the only time I have seen this done when using such membrane but not how much mud filler used?...

Last edited by JetSwet; 01-22-2012 at 01:59 PM.
JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 03:14 PM   #8
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 6,039
Rewards Points: 780
Default


Turbo is a DIY'r and I've never seen Holmes mention or do a mud-job. It's not an installation method you'll see many DIY'rs attempt, for good reason. Turbo just wants to tile a powder room himself.

Turbo, tell us about the subfloor and your plans.

Jaz
__________________
TILE GUY - retired- TROY, MI - Method & Product suitability consulting.

MARBLE from ITALY & GREECE -PERLATO-PERLATINO-BOTTICINO-THASSOS-SIVEC-VOLAKAS-CALACATTA- NAXOS-Slabs-Tiles-Custom containers shipped to you - [email protected]
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 03:48 PM   #9
Pro
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 1,020
Rewards Points: 502
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JazMan
Turbo is a DIY'r and I've never seen Holmes mention or do a mud-job. It's not an installation method you'll see many DIY'rs attempt, for good reason. Turbo just wants to tile a powder room himself.

Turbo, tell us about the subfloor and your plans.

Jaz
Sorry JazMan I think I just misunderstood your prior reply.
JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:12 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default


First of all, how about you guys just call my Jay cause being called Turbo isn't really the greatest name.
Yes, I am planing to use a Ditra as a membrane on my powder room floor with ceramic tiles. The sub floor is 3/4 inches thick and I haven't demo my old tiles yet but I will start soon. Could you guys provide me with a shopping list for what to buy even though I live right beside HD.
TurboDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 07:51 PM   #11
Pro
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 1,020
Rewards Points: 502
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboDIYer
First of all, how about you guys just call my Jay cause being called Turbo isn't really the greatest name.
Yes, I am planing to use a Ditra as a membrane on my powder room floor with ceramic tiles. The sub floor is 3/4 inches thick and I haven't demo my old tiles yet but I will start soon. Could you guys provide me with a shopping list for what to buy even though I live right beside HD.
Ok Jay, so you are leaving the subfloor there just taking tile out? How positive are you that you have 3/4 worth of subfloor?
JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 10:03 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSwet View Post
Ok Jay, so you are leaving the subfloor there just taking tile out? How positive are you that you have 3/4 worth of subfloor?
This is a house was bought as a blueprint. I have been involved in every process of my house being built.
TurboDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 01:38 PM   #13
Pro
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 1,020
Rewards Points: 502
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboDIYer

This is a house was bought as a blueprint. I have been involved in every process of my house being built.
If you only have 3/4 of ply in your floor you will need to add 1/2 you need at least 1" of wood for proper tile install ditra or cement board it not for a structure sound floor.
JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 09:16 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSwet View Post
If you only have 3/4 of ply in your floor you will need to add 1/2 you need at least 1" of wood for proper tile install ditra or cement board it not for a structure sound floor.
Do I have to do that?
TurboDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:23 PM   #15
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 6,039
Rewards Points: 780
Default


Quote:
If you only have 3/4 of ply in your floor you will need to add 1/2 you need at least 1" of wood for proper tile install ditra or cement board
HUH? Where did you get that? Please let us know.

Jaz
__________________
TILE GUY - retired- TROY, MI - Method & Product suitability consulting.

MARBLE from ITALY & GREECE -PERLATO-PERLATINO-BOTTICINO-THASSOS-SIVEC-VOLAKAS-CALACATTA- NAXOS-Slabs-Tiles-Custom containers shipped to you - [email protected]
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
At a crossroads in my basement project - waterproofing help needed callisto9 Building & Construction 37 07-06-2015 08:40 AM
Why I can't use thin-set mortar over RedGard waterproofing membrane? sukhenkoi Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 9 03-16-2013 03:39 PM
Torch on roof membrane on deck canada55 Roofing/Siding 36 03-03-2011 03:18 PM
Delta waterproofing membrane RINAIL Building & Construction 2 03-30-2008 10:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts