Removing Carpet From Staircase - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-15-2013, 05:21 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Removing carpet from staircase

Hi, Just a beginner here:
How hard will it be to remove the carpet from this staircase?

After I remove it, what else will I need to do? I am assuming the hardwood flooring under the carpet will be pockmarked by the carpet staples. Will I then just sand it and paint it with some finish? Any feedback appreciated!

Would this be something it would make more sense to hire someone to do?

fatlittlepig is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-16-2013, 11:48 AM   #2
Pro Flooring Installer

Rewards Points: 1,658

Just grab it and pull it off. It may or may not be stapled. Are you sure there is hardwood underneath? I have seen staircases where only the visible part was hardwood.

Oh and just a warning, if you run around in socks, a hardwood staircase can be slick and cause falls.
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-17-2013, 12:46 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 1,186

I removed the carpeting from the stairs leading up to the bedrooms in my home. In my case there were only six stairs, and it was a pain in the behind, as all DIY jobs seem to be. I didn't have hardwood underneath the carpeting though, just 2x10 pine risers and treads, which I tore out and replaced with oak hardwood. I had purchased and prefinished the treads and risers before I started working on the stairs so I didn't have to worry about not using the stairs while the finish was drying. In your case, you have many more stairs than I did and you'll probably have to paint the side by the wall and use the other side until it dries, and then do the other side. A pretty big job, which will probably take a week or so, if not more. Good luck.