"loose" Pebble Bathroom Flooring - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-26-2016, 12:06 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 24

"loose" pebble bathroom flooring

Hiya folks!

I'm been thinking about remodeling my bathroom and alternatives to standard tile flooring. An important bit of information is that I've never done this before.

Has anyone heard of or experience with the following:

Instead of tile, putting down the subfloor and then a layer of underlayment. Then, putting loose, polished, 1/2" - 7/8" pebble stones into the underlayment about an inch thick so the stones stick into the underlayment. (I have many small stones in my garden and a rock tumbler to smooth them.) Then, after that has all set up (next day or so), I was thinking about putting a clear floor epoxy over the whole thing so it will look like a pebble floor but will be smooth and level.

In my mind, it looks pretty cool but I'm wary because of my lack of experience.

I'm fishing for any feedback, recommendations, warnings, etc.

Thanks!
spacepunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-26-2016, 12:20 PM   #2
JUSTA MEMBER

Rewards Points: 3,990

Re: "loose" pebble bathroom flooring

Depending on the "polish" desired on your stones, it takes weeks to polish rocks in a tumbler.

And depending on the size of each batch , you will need months to have enough to cover a small bathroom.

Otherwise it sounds doable.

ED
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-26-2016, 12:30 PM   #3

Thank you! That is encouraging. I'm mostly thinking along these lines for sentimental reasons - i.e., I think it would be cool to both de-stone my veggie garden and use those stones for the floor. I do have patience and the bathroom floor is about 40 sq. ft.

:D
Sponsored Links
Advertisement