Installing Hardwood - Gaps - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-17-2015, 01:49 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 28
Question

installing hardwood - gaps

Hi all,

Im installing 3 1/4 white oak (select) flooring i got from lumber liquidators. I'm a newb when it comes to that but it seems to me that there is always gaps no matter how hard I pound the wood together.

I tried to select longer pieces at first and i snapped a line that I nailed the first row to.

The issue I am running into that I end up with tiny little gaps where the wood isnt perfectly straight, to add to the aggravation the first row seems to be moving a bit if I pound on the wood too hard.

Any tips? maybe I should be using smaller pieces?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!

Tom
bmwperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-17-2015, 07:44 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 284

Are you top nailing with a regular pneumatic nail gun? Better IMO to use a toe nailer which sinks the staples into the board at a 45 degree angle along the spine of each board. You can rent them usually at big box. the cleats/staples pull the board toward the previous row and it's a hell of a lot faster and cleaner looking too. Also, if you haven't acclimated the wood to the area before installing, the wood will expand/contract and cause gaps. They say you should let the wood sit in the house uninstalled for a month beforehand. But a lot of people say a lot of things, so take that for what it's worth

Gaps happen though and almost every installer I knew would go through with wood filler (matched in color to specific type of wood) and fill the gaps before sanding the floor and coating

Last edited by JustScrewIt; 10-17-2015 at 07:49 PM.
JustScrewIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-18-2015, 07:32 PM   #3