How To Replace Threshold - Flooring - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-21-2013, 04:29 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,160
Rewards Points: 590
Default


I got a piece of trim and of course its to thick and I don't have a table saw. Would a planer work?
nikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2013, 08:39 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,619
Rewards Points: 18,376
Default


You've been in the medical field to long, take imperial measurement when you go.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-22-2013, 09:33 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,160
Rewards Points: 590
Default


I took the old trim with me and I knew the height difference was 10mm. The guy at Lockwood suggested the table saw method just like you guys. I have a power plainer but maybe this can be an excuse to buy a portable table saw.
nikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2013, 12:00 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 4,070
Rewards Points: 1,042
Default


A planer will work,a little dicey though.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 10:59 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Newark, NJ
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Check if it helps you: how to replace threshold
eliciasam1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 03:16 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,160
Rewards Points: 590
Default


I got an old bench saw from my father in law. I think it needs a new blade and I am wondering if I need a certain type to cut this trim down some. I'm gonna look for a thinner blade and basically just trim off about the thickness of the blade which I think will be enough to make this trim sit flat on the wood and vinyl floors.
nikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 02:25 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: TN
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default


You don't need a threshold, you need a reducer.
clayduster71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 04:32 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how to replace threshold


I think he will be ok with a reducer

Last edited by Rico_44; 10-16-2013 at 04:43 PM.
Rico_44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 05:44 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,160
Rewards Points: 590
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rico_44 View Post
I think he will be ok with a reducer

What's a reducer?
nikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 06:50 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,160
Rewards Points: 590
Default


What I have is a reducer. I thought it was all one in the same.
nikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 11:05 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: TN
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

You need a reducer


A reducer looks like this:

Name:  Reducer.png
Views: 100
Size:  30.1 KB

It is used to take a floor from your level down to vinyl.

You could use a Threshold:

how to replace threshold-threshold.png

but the reducer would transition much better and not be as an abrupt step upwards.

FYI -- The reducer image I posted is a flush mount one for engineered/solid hardwood. The on you need for laminate will be a "over the top" fit.

Just my 2 cents.

Last edited by clayduster71; 10-19-2013 at 11:09 AM.
clayduster71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 06:51 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,160
Rewards Points: 590
Default


Here's my handy work. Not perfect but I'm happy with how it looks and feels on my foot when I step on it.

how to replace threshold-forumrunner_20131020_185100.jpg
nikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 08:39 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: TN
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Good Job


Good job!
clayduster71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 10:41 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs up

job well done


you did a great job! as long as you like it that's all that matters. I do a lot of 1st timers and sometimes I take all my time until I convince myself that no matter how it comes out I can live with it, that makes me think a little harder working on the project.
you did great my DIY Chatroom friend!
rico_44
Rico_44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entry door adjustable threshold JLars Carpentry 3 02-12-2013 11:07 AM
waterproofing under threshold bentnail Windows and Doors 3 10-07-2012 08:37 PM
Replace threshold? thaKing Windows and Doors 4 07-17-2012 12:27 PM
Should I chance removing this threshold? rosemonster Building & Construction 7 08-22-2010 10:34 PM
Replace door sill = Need new door? NNJGUY Carpentry 23 09-01-2009 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts