Floor On A 4" Concrete Slab - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-19-2017, 10:50 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Easton Mass. and Cocagne NB
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 88
Question

Floor on a 4" concrete slab


I will be installing a Floor on a 4" concrete slab
I'm planning on using PT 2X4's on the flat secured with Tapcon screws.
Insulation will go between the 2X4's
3/4" plywood for the subfloor.
Question is where does the poly go?
Thanks
Sean
Sean McGill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2017, 04:18 PM   #2
Naildriver
 
chandler48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Young Harris, Georgia
Posts: 6,949
Rewards Points: 4,260
Default

Re: Floor on a 4" concrete slab


Have you done a moisture test on the concrete? Is it perfectly dry all the time? If not, why would you want to take a chance of rotting wood against wet concrete? What type floor are you planning? Is it inside, or outside? Is it in a living area or a patio?

The proper way to install a sleeper floor is to lay a moisture barrier on top of the concrete, then set your 2x4's upright to span across and fasten only at the ends into your banding board. The 3/4" Advantech will stabilize the sleepers as you apply glue and decking screws to it. If you insulate, use something like Roxul as it is waterproof, fireproof, vermin proof and mold proof. No nails through the vapor barrier.
__________________
Larry......
Half of Communications is Listening, and You can't Listen with your Mouth.
chandler48 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-20-2017, 08:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 1,066
Default

Re: Floor on a 4" concrete slab


Roxul is nice, but you can use foam boards too. Chandler is on point about the rest of it.
One thing I'd add is if this is a garage that you're converting, then chances are that it's not level. You'll need to rip your sleepers (the boards resting on the ground) to create a level subfloor.
NotyeruncleBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2017, 09:45 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Easton Mass. and Cocagne NB
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 88
Default

Re: Floor on a 4" concrete slab


Sorry ... I also have this posted in
http://www.diychatroom.com/f19/floor...e-slab-513985/
It's hard to edit after a couple of days.
I found the Flooring section after I posted there.....
I will be sticking with that post
Sean McGill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove slope in a concrete slab aka join horizontal slabs TXKEVIN Concrete, Stone & Masonry 5 11-02-2016 08:46 AM
Fix or Replace Porch Concrete Slab Majoram Building & Construction 10 06-25-2011 02:45 PM
Concrete slab to foundation work tntgarv Building & Construction 3 02-28-2010 12:23 PM
Help!: 4" concrete over 2' dirt over 7/8 wood planking! agent99 Flooring 4 04-28-2009 08:21 AM
Pouring a concrete slab - Do I need a 4" gravel base? tokuzumi Building & Construction 2 11-27-2007 07:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts