DIY Baseboard Installation - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-29-2014, 09:42 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

DIY Baseboard Installation

Newbie here. I am planning to install baseboard (never done that before - first time). Spent countless hours on youtube, bought Ryobi Miter saw and ordered Pine baseboard (5180). I don't have a nail gun and my budget is around $50. Is it worth to buy from harbor freight? Also, what nail gun i should buy.

Brand gun or nail gun?
16 guange or 18 gauge
1 1/2" or 2 " nails

Baseboard is 5 1/4" height 9/16" thickness - pine primed

Also, do i need to apply kilz. What kind of paint i need to use (it is white primed)
spower is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-30-2014, 01:40 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 18,376

There is no need to prime.
Look it over close, often times there idea of priming is to do it in a dust saw dust filled room.
It may need a light sanding to remove the flaws.
I set mine up of saw horse and prepaint it before installing.
Any quality latex paint will work, the more sheen the easier it will be to clean.
I often use a 6" foam roller for faster painting and a no brush mark finish.
2-1/2" nails 15 or 16 gauge will work.
Brads are to small and have no heads, you need a finish nailer.
Use painters putty to fill the nail holes and latex caulking for gaps and along the top edge.
Find the lay out of the studs before installing, if there 16" on center just lay a tape measure out in the locked position on the floor. There should be red marks right on the tape showing where 16" spacing is. No need to mark anything.
spower (04-30-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-30-2014, 07:19 AM   #3

thanks. Found another thread as well in flooring froum where they suggest to use 2" nails
Sponsored Links
Advertisement