Concrete Resurfacing - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-15-2016, 08:12 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 2

Concrete resurfacing

Hello! I am a complete newbie to this forum as well as to any sort of home improvement projects - it's generally my husband's domain. But.. we just moved into a new house and I'm determined to tackle something myself. He can help me out a lot but I'd like to kind of come up with a plan on my own.. with the help of any internet strangers who would be willing and gracious enough to help! Thank you in advance!

Here's the question:

We moved into a 150 year old farmhouse so as you can imagine the basement is rough. It does have a full bathroom and one wall has drywall. It's actually not as bad as I would have anticipated... but I'd like to make it fully functional. I have a lot of questions but I'll start with the floors. Right now it's cement that has clearly been sealed with something. It's not smooth - it's like a gritty paint... but not paint. I have no idea what it's been sealed with but it's flat - not shiny. I'd like to use some self-leveling compound to even it out - maybe lay some floor or just get decorative with the concrete.

Any suggestions for what the best type is? How much would I need for roughly 200 square feet? It's VERY uneven so I feel like I'll need a lot.

Or, are there any alternatives that could warm up the floor? I've seen brown-paper bag floors. I am not opposed to just staining it, etc. but something needs to be done before that due to the sort of gritty, flecked material on it.

Does any of that make sense? Thanks for helping a newbie out!!
KatesDU is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-15-2016, 10:01 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 426

Re: Concrete resurfacing