Bruce Hardwood 3 1/4 X 3/4 - Flooring - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 08:34 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 1,280
Default


Well, I have 240 sq ft to install
Like I said, the room is not that big, and relatively square

I am comfortable with laminate, but not with solid hardwood – I’ve never installed this type of flooring

The cheapest installer I found will take something like $700, which is may be a fair price but still expensive for my budget

This is why I thought I could try to do it…..but after reading all the answers in that post, I am a little scared to go ahead: I don’t want to mess up everything !!!

By the way, somebody said I could buy a flooring nailer at Harbor Freight for something like $150……I saw at my local Lumber Liquidator, they sale one (nailer/stapler) for $110
Anyway, 24h00 rent is $39 at Home Depot…..So I am still saving if I rent 2 days, but it’s better to buy at LL if I need it more than 2 days !!!
Attached Thumbnails
Bruce hardwood 3 1/4 x 3/4-floor.jpg  
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2013, 09:33 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 91
Default


I bought a reconditioned bostich flooring nailer on ebay for dirt cheap, installed the floors I needed then unloaded it on ebay when done, cost me about 20 bucks in the end... make sure you use a compressed air version.
tjfslaughter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2013, 11:16 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 1,280
Default


If having a control line is so important, I will use the current planks already in the doorway as a reference and will snap a line from that reference (and I will need a spline since the groove is facing the carpet)
OR
I don’t try to “link” the new hardwood with the current one: I leave a gap and will have to put a transition bar……

Other question: how much expansion gap do I need to leave all around the room?
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2013, 11:20 AM   #19
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 8,492
Rewards Points: 790
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
If having a control line is so important, I will use the current planks already in the doorway as a reference and will snap a line from that reference (and I will need a spline since the groove is facing the carpet)
OR
I don’t try to “link” the new hardwood with the current one: I leave a gap and will have to put a transition bar……

Other question: how much expansion gap do I need to leave all around the room?
For a floating floor application, technically your expansion gap is a function of your product and size of the install (consult manufacturer specs recommendation ). Usually 3/8 inch is fine.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:51 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 1,280
Default


So no need of gap at all for a nailed down application?
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:56 AM   #21
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 8,492
Rewards Points: 790
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
So no need of gap at all for a nailed down application?
Correct... Don't pound it in agaist your framing (sole plates) but no distinct gap required.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:19 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 1,280
Default


So here is my layout
Based on what you all said, I think I will have to measure and report the width of the planks (3” ¼) from the last row, near each side of the door way
Then chalk a line based on these 2 marks, and it will be my starting line – I may have to trim the planks that will go against the wall (each side of the doorway)
For the expansion gap all around the room, how much should I put?
Attached Thumbnails
Bruce hardwood 3 1/4 x 3/4-layout-1.jpg   Bruce hardwood 3 1/4 x 3/4-layout-2.jpg  
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bruce hardwood floors jjones1020 Flooring 5 04-20-2013 03:00 PM
Hardwood flooring installed with Bruce EVERBOND BobHorn Flooring 8 01-21-2013 08:46 PM
Hardwood floor BRUCE E550 french_guy Flooring 10 12-05-2012 04:05 PM
bruce hardwood margras5 Flooring 1 07-29-2010 10:51 PM
Bruce hardwood floors Andy in ATL Flooring 2 12-04-2009 08:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts