Best Way To Lay Carpet In This Room? Or What Kind Of Flooring.. - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-19-2015, 11:22 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 158

Best way to lay carpet in this room? Or what kind of flooring..

Hi,

I have a finished attic room with OSB currently on the floors and am planning to lay carpet on it. It's a kind of awkward layout with stairs coming up to a L shaped walkway. I'm not planning to put carpet on the stairs since they're finished hardwood already.

I've kicked in a few rooms in the past, but I'm no pro installer in any way. I was wondering what the best way would be to lay the carpet in this room to reduce seams and waste? I was suggested by someone at Menards to cut across the width of the room (15'3" at 12' up), but that's going to make a huge seam in the middle. I was thinking to buy 2'10" more than 25'2" so I can cut out the L shape for the walkway, and also some more for the closet, which will run 2 seams total (1 in the closet and 1 in the walkway). I can only use 12' carpet since that's all they have for in stock carpet and I don't want to more than $1/sqft.

I put some pictures for a better idea. If you guys have any better ideas let me know, or any insight for installing carpet, or any other kind of flooring that would be great. I might even go for laminate if you guys suggest that too. If I do choose laminate, do I need to lay a moisture barrier over OSB? This is a rental by the way, which is why I'm trying to go cheap.
mikemark8808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-19-2015, 11:24 PM   #2

Here are the pictures
Attached Thumbnails