Advice Installing Subfloor And Prefinished Hardwood Over Cement Floor Read More: Ht - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-27-2014, 12:28 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

advice installing subfloor and prefinished hardwood over cement floor

hey all,

I need some advice on how to best install a subfloor and hardwood floor. I'm moving into a condominium that has concrete floors. it's above grade (my unit is on the third floor). the living room already has hardwood but the bedrooms have laminate that I want to replace. I've never done flooring myself before so I have a few questions. I'm planning on installing bruce prefinished 3-1/4in x 3/4in flooring.

- is something like the Roberts 6 mil polyethylene moisturebarricade (from homedepot) adequate for a moisture barrier? since I'm not at or below grade, I'm expecting the floor to be pretty dry.

- what is the thinnest plywood I can use for subflooring? I've seen one website recommend 3/4", but most places just say install plywood, and don't recommend a thickness. I'd like to use the thinnest possible (my ceilings are only 8 foot so I want to lose as little height as possible. I'm not worried about doors/moldings/etc, as i know those will have to be adjusted and i'm ok with that)

- what is the best way to attach the plywood? using a ramset? tapcon screws? the ramset seems better but my only concern is the nails not being driven flush into the plywood, thus leaving a surface that's not perfectly smooth under the hardwood flooring. (those are the only two options I'm really familiar with, I'm sure there are others)

I'm sorry if these questions are covered in other posts but I wasn't able to find them.

thanks in advance for any advice!

Last edited by happydude; 06-27-2014 at 12:47 PM. Reason: typo in title
happydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links