Yikes... Dryer Ain't Working! - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By de-nagorg
  • 1 Post By de-nagorg
  • 1 Post By de-nagorg
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-29-2018, 10:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 56
Default

Yikes... dryer ain't working!


Bought this store model, GE flat back dryer 4yr ago at sears outlet for like $400. It isn't working today.

I turn the knobs and ain't working. Lights on inside dryer though. Circuit breaker didn't trip.

Is it something i can open the top panel and see if there's a connection missing etc?

Any recommendations?

Thx....

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Last edited by miserkris1; 05-29-2018 at 10:38 PM.
miserkris1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2018, 11:15 PM   #2
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 13,048
Rewards Points: 1,062
Default

Re: Yikes... dryer ain't working!


Define " not working", no heat, or no tumble.

Download a schematic for that make and model, before attempting to repair, take pictures of each step disassembling it, that way you have a picture of how it's supposed to be when assembling it again.

Need to look for internal fuses (blown?), loose wires, heating element intact, dust / dirt buildup, worn drive belt, drum rollers, lot's of things.


ED
miserkris1 likes this.
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2018, 11:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 56
Default

Re: Yikes... dryer ain't working!


Quote:
Originally Posted by de-nagorg View Post
Define " not working", no heat, or no tumble.

Download a schematic for that make and model, before attempting to repair, take pictures of each step disassembling it, that way you have a picture of how it's supposed to be when assembling it again.

Need to look for internal fuses (blown?), loose wires, heating element intact, dust / dirt buildup, worn drive belt, drum rollers, lot's of things.


ED
Thanks, will do!

It isn't working meaning no hum/ noise,no tumble, no heat.... only the light is working

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
miserkris1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2018, 02:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Steamboat Landing IN
Posts: 548
Rewards Points: 949
Default

Re: Yikes... dryer ain't working!


Check the outlet for 240v line to line.
DanS26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 07:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 56
Default

Re: Yikes... dryer ain't working!


Quote:
Originally Posted by DanS26 View Post
Check the outlet for 240v line to line.
I did....i mean the lights on inside when doors open....

You mean check inside with a tester

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
miserkris1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 07:39 PM   #6
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 30,422
Rewards Points: 4,498
Default

Re: Yikes... dryer ain't working!


Quote:
Originally Posted by miserkris1 View Post
I did....i mean the lights on inside when doors open....

You mean check inside with a tester

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
The light is 120 volts the rest of the dryer may need 240 to operate so you want to make sure you are getting 120 on both sides or 240 between the two. You can check the outlet and where the wires go into dryer.
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 11:55 PM   #7
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 13,048
Rewards Points: 1,062
Default

Re: Yikes... dryer ain't working!


What type of wall outlet do you have to plug into?

A standard 110V, or a 240 V.

I have seen a 240 V outlet, lose one leg, because someone left the wirenut loose.


ED
Nealtw likes this.
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 10:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 56
Default

Re: Yikes... dryer ain't working!


Quote:
Originally Posted by de-nagorg View Post
What type of wall outlet do you have to plug into?

A standard 110V, or a 240 V.

I have seen a 240 V outlet, lose one leg, because someone left the wirenut loose.


ED
It's 240v outlet been in use for many years.

I have a cheap harbor freight multimeter...
Can i use it to test? If so what setting?
Thx

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
miserkris1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 10:43 PM   #9
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 13,048
Rewards Points: 1,062
Default

Re: Yikes... dryer ain't working!


A multi-meter is the correct tool.

Use the V AC setting high enough to cover the 240V.

insert the probes on the meter in the correct holes. , then use the test probes The negative on your meter to the ground hole of the outlet, and the positive to one of the slots, and get a voltage reading. then the positive lead to the other slot.

Should get 110 on each side. May be 120 V, depending.

If they are different, there is a loss somewhere in the circuit.

Now turn off the breaker and remove thee cover, look for a loose wire nut, or burned wire, or other wrong appearance.




ED
miserkris1 likes this.

Last edited by de-nagorg; 06-01-2018 at 10:46 PM.
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to de-nagorg For This Useful Post:
miserkris1 (06-02-2018)
Old 06-02-2018, 07:59 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 56
Default

Re: Yikes... dryer ain't working!


Quote:
Originally Posted by de-nagorg View Post
A multi-meter is the correct tool.

Use the V AC setting high enough to cover the 240V.

insert the probes on the meter in the correct holes. , then use the test probes The negative on your meter to the ground hole of the outlet, and the positive to one of the slots, and get a voltage reading. then the positive lead to the other slot.

Should get 110 on each side. May be 120 V, depending.

If they are different, there is a loss somewhere in the circuit.

Now turn off the breaker and remove thee cover, look for a loose wire nut, or burned wire, or other wrong appearance.




ED
Well i better be safe than sorry! Are my settings right? Thanks!

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
miserkris1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 11:24 PM   #11
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 13,048
Rewards Points: 1,062
Default

Re: Yikes... dryer ain't working!


That is correct for that meter.

If the meter is a good one, it will give you the results of the circuit.

ED
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to de-nagorg For This Useful Post:
miserkris1 (06-02-2018)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer Vent Problems - Small Space moose8721 Appliances 5 10-30-2013 11:20 PM
Gas Dryer - Install Flex Line and Also No Heat mark2741 Appliances 8 07-05-2011 01:10 AM
Samsung Dryer Issue?? cbzdel Appliances 4 05-31-2011 03:47 PM
Dryer Venting Question cbzdel HVAC 4 05-18-2011 03:16 PM
Problems with Whirlpool Dryer Hookup! Help! maryrgrimm Appliances 1 04-07-2010 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts