Range Operating On LP Without A Conversion - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Hook75
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-01-2017, 10:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Range operating on LP without a conversion


Hi guys - looking for some advice here.

I moved into a new house in the fall and it's rural so the heating source is Liquid Propane.
The oven that came with the house was electric. We immediately hired a company to run a propan line to the kitchen and install our brand new GE Cafe range.

Being out first time on propane we didn't realize anything was wrong right away.
We noticed a strange odour, large flames and black soot over everything. We called the gas company and the service tech came out to look at it and said it was fine.

We kept using it and called them again a few weeks later as we knew something wasn't right. The service tech called us (didn't even come to the house) and said it was an air/fuel mixture issue and to call the appliance company.

We called our extended warranty on the actual appliance as directed. They came out and immediately shut it down saying it wasn't converted to LP by the gas installer.

We operated this thing all winter without any type of conversion!!

We called the gas company back and they came out yesterday and did the conversion and cleaned all of the soot out of the stove.

My questions are;

Would this cause any long term damage to the range...should I be demanding that they replace it since it was brand new when they hooked it up wrong?

Would this cause me to use an excessive amount of propane operating it this way? Should they be on the hook for a portion of my propane bill?

Thanks for any assistance. Like I said, new to this whole propane thing.

Cheers
Hook75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2017, 10:48 AM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 13,993
Rewards Points: 10,012
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Re: Range operating on LP without a conversion


LPG has almost 3x the energy content as compared to natural gas.

Your regulator is designed to mix natural gas with air at the proper ratio. Now you are using LPG which has almost 3x the energy....hence, the mix ratio is now all wrong.

Chances are your stove is now producing significant amounts of CO (translation, carbon monoxide...the colorless gas that kills you)

It's not going to hurt the range.....but you might not be around to find out if it does.

To continue to use the stove as is will only end up adding you to the list of Darwin candidates.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2017, 10:54 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Range operating on LP without a conversion


thanks for the reply, but maybe I wasn't totally clear.

the range is now operating on LP and has been converted to a LP range. Question is; while it was operating incorrectly....would that have caused any long term issues with it?
Hook75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2017, 01:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,444
Rewards Points: 680
Default

Re: Range operating on LP without a conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hook75 View Post
thanks for the reply, but maybe I wasn't totally clear.

the range is now operating on LP and has been converted to a LP range. Question is; while it was operating incorrectly....would that have caused any long term issues with it?
If it's working fine now, no issues. If you start making demands on the installer, it's going to come down to who was supposed to inform who that the range you bought was not set up for propane.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2017, 02:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Range operating on LP without a conversion


I strongly disagree with just letting it go.

I paid a lot of money for them to install the gas line and range. They are professionals (supposedly) and don't know the difference between NG and LP?
They could have killed my family...
If they didn't feel responsible for the instillation, I highly doubt they would come back to convert it and then clean my range out of the kindness of their heart.

Besides that, I have all paperwork from them where they specifically wrote on the work order "appliances hooked up and safe to use at this time".
MTN REMODEL LLC likes this.
Hook75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2017, 02:02 PM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 13,993
Rewards Points: 10,012
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Re: Range operating on LP without a conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
LPG has almost 3x the energy content as compared to natural gas.

Your regulator is designed to mix natural gas with air at the proper ratio. Now you are using LPG which has almost 3x the energy....hence, the mix ratio is now all wrong.

Chances are your stove is now producing significant amounts of CO (translation, carbon monoxide...the colorless gas that kills you)

It's not going to hurt the range.....but you might not be around to find out if it does.

To continue to use the stove as is will only end up adding you to the list of Darwin candidates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hook75 View Post
thanks for the reply, but maybe I wasn't totally clear.

the range is now operating on LP and has been converted to a LP range. Question is; while it was operating incorrectly....would that have caused any long term issues with it?
I missed the part about the conversion being done....but I did answer the part about it hurting the range....which it won't.

Now that you are converted, you are fine.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2017, 02:27 PM   #7
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 8,857
Rewards Points: 1,790
Default

Re: Range operating on LP without a conversion


Quote:
the range is now operating on LP and has been converted to a LP range. Question is; while it was operating incorrectly....would that have caused any long term issues with it?
Nope,...
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2017, 03:32 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Range operating on LP without a conversion


Thanks for the help
Hook75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2017, 09:53 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2,334
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Re: Range operating on LP without a conversion


Most likely they wouldn't have known how to convert it. Just for your info most manufacturers will convert it for you if its a new install. They have always paid us and we have never collected a dime from the homeowners. When the homeowners call they try to discourage it and direct you to factory service. It's not hard but each manufacturer might have a different way to go about it. They feel better if they have it done for you. You have not damaged anything
BayouRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v range receptacle conversion kentannenbaum2 Electrical 19 04-08-2016 02:47 PM
Moving Electric Range Plug dmartins Electrical 3 11-23-2010 08:48 AM
240 to 120 range outlet conversion Cousteau135 Electrical 6 01-11-2010 03:17 PM
Gas stove top/oven conversion to combo range... Leikela Appliances 1 03-08-2007 07:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts