Kenmore Refrigerator - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-18-2013, 10:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 225
Default

Kenmore refrigerator


Model # 795.71303.011

Displays error for the refrigerator. No number comes with the error display. Reset refrigerator by plugging it back in. In a day or so error message comes again. Thanks.
gt1935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-18-2013, 11:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,562
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default


How old is fridge? Call or go online to searspartsdirect.com They have a 24 hour chat service that may be able to help you.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2013, 02:59 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


It helps to know what the error code is. You can also get the replacement parts cheaper sometimes at repairclinic.com, so check them, along with they have some helpful troubleshooting info, compared to the outsourced call center script readers, that Kmart uses for Sears.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2013, 08:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 225
Default


No error codes just says error for the refrigerator.
gt1935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 11:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,562
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by gt1935 View Post
Model # 795.71303.011 Displays error for the refrigerator. No number comes with the error display. Reset refrigerator by plugging it back in. In a day or so error message comes again. Thanks.
Does everything seemed to be working, to include ice maker if equip? Stick a temp. gauge in fridge and freezer. Fridge should be about 35-40 degrees, freezer about 0 - -10 degrees.

How old is fridge? Still under warantee by chance?

If everything is working fine, then it may have a faulty display board/module which should be covered. Call or go online and ask kenmore directly. Just a thought.

Last edited by jmon; 11-19-2013 at 11:17 PM.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 11:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


That is a LG fridge. $165 for the control board itself through amazon.com. http://www.amazon.com/LG-Electronics...ds=6871JB2046B

$100 for the Control board at https://www.encompassparts.com/item/...sembly,display

The part is coming up discontinued, so that is making it sound as if that is a old unit, since only one place is even possibly carrying the part. You may end up finding that you will have to just bite the bullet and buy a whole new fridge, since they no longer are manufacturing the control circuit board for that unit.

After the letters ER, what is the next set of letters that show up on the screen? This is a listing of the error codes and what they mean:






Last edited by gregzoll; 11-19-2013 at 11:27 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 12:18 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 225
Default


Refrigerator couple of years old. Refrigerator is not cold. Thanks for your help.
gt1935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 12:23 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 225
Default


After the error message display there are no letters. Thanks for the information and help.
gt1935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 12:32 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Most likely your board is shot. You probably had an electrical surge, which fried it. You could contact Repair Clinic, or a local shop. I have always had really good luck with getting stuff through them, but the board again is discontinued, so you will have issues finding it if it is the board.

Defrost thermostat is still available. This sensor is d/c 6500JK1004A, this one is still available 6500JB2001B

Again, really with LG no longer making parts for it, or even carrying them, which usually it is seven years that they will stock them, or will use the same part in several models, up to including current year, you usually have no problems finding parts for equipment from certain manufacturers.

LG is one that is known to not carry parts after a few years on their models. All you can do is start making some calls, and see if your luck will hold out on finding the part you need. Otherwise you are going to end up with having to buy a new fridge.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 05:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 225
Default


gregzoll deleted this post to you. If you already read this post-probably did not order correct board as you had suggested. Thanks.

Last edited by gt1935; 12-10-2013 at 01:39 AM.
gt1935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 08:32 PM   #11
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,903
Rewards Points: 1,716
Default


you replaced the main board? Why? If an error code comes up it is telling you that some component is bad in the refrig. The board itself does not have an error code. So does the new board show error code or does the refrig just not work now?
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 09:54 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 225
Default


The error does not specify what component. Talked to a repair man and others who said the board needed to be replaced. The freezer worked before and the refrigerator did not. New board does the same. In the refrigerator display it shows error no numbers or letters following. Thanks.
gt1935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 11:48 PM   #13
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,903
Rewards Points: 1,716
Default


freezer worked before? freezer working now? Give me a little more info if you want help. Its very hard to trouble shoot a problem without all the info. But my first guess would be you have some sort of defrost problem.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 12:29 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 225
Default


After reading posts, I think this is the wrong board. Thanks.

Last edited by gt1935; 12-10-2013 at 01:51 AM.
gt1935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 10:00 AM   #15
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,903
Rewards Points: 1,716
Default


not that I believe the board was ever the problem but it should be a 6871JB2046B
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kenmore freezer and refrigerator not cooling enough vikasintl Appliances 0 08-26-2013 10:55 PM
Kenmore refrigerator not cooling Fiberartist HVAC 3 07-13-2011 05:44 PM
kenmore top freezer refrigerator problem. joanneh105 Appliances 3 06-13-2011 09:08 AM
Kenmore refrigerator fan clicking Orroe Appliances 3 01-31-2010 06:25 PM
Kenmore Refrigerator - Water Dispenser bradels Appliances 1 04-04-2009 09:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts