Cooktop Fitting Question - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By huesmann
  • 2 Post By Koa
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-15-2019, 10:39 PM   #1
aam
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 12
Default

cooktop fitting question


Hi,

For our new home we selected a 36 inches kitchen aid electric cook top. The cut out done for the kitchen aid cook top was width: 35 5/16 inches and depth: 20 1/2 inches.

unfortunately the kitchen aid cook top got some issue with the touch and kitchen aid has recalled the model.

Now we have selected a 36 inches Bosch induction cook top. The cut out specification say width between 34 3/4 to 34 7/8 inches and depth between 19 7/8 to 20 inches.

Could any one suggest that it is OK to install the Bosch cook top in the cut out done for the kitchen aid cook top.

thanks
aam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2019, 12:07 AM   #2
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 13,304
Rewards Points: 1,574
Default

Re: cooktop fitting question


That is for you to decide.

Measure the new, exactly, and if there is enough flange for it to not fall through the existing hole, you probably are "good to go".

But if there is a chance that it might fall through, I would fashion some fillers from 1/2 inch aluminum angle iron, with spacers between the filler and the countertop rim, so that when screwed to the countertop, it creates a hole sized to keep this new one topside.

That's me, what you decide to do is not my place to order.


ED
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2019, 08:57 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington, DC area
Posts: 2,757
Rewards Points: 2,176
Default

Re: cooktop fitting question


As an alternate idea, perhaps you could give it some extra support from below the cooktop, with some steel channel stock across the cabinet, held up by some cleats on the cabinet walls.
de-nagorg likes this.
huesmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2019, 12:19 PM   #4
Koa
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 174
Default

Re: cooktop fitting question


Check with Bosch if they have a filler trim kit. Search for for filler trim kits. Here’s a company that makes them.

http://www.microtrim.com/cooktop.htm
de-nagorg and tdisss like this.
Koa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts