Router Bit Size Too Big For Router? (Porter Cable 690LR) - Tools - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-30-2015, 08:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 208
Rewards Points: 416
Default

Router bit size too big for router? (Porter Cable 690LR)


I have this router:

http://www.amazon.com/PORTER-CABLE-6...308f1e40c6ca28

and I have this router bit set:

http://www.amazon.com/MLCS-8377-15-P...E3E5PH6XDWKWVR

I've been trying all night to get this "round over" bit (1/2" in size) to work with the router but it doesn't seem to "fit" because the router bit "head" won't go into the router base "center" hole. The bit gets tightened in and screwed in fine but when I then put the Router "base" on, the router bit is hanging too low because the router bit won't fit into the router "base" hole (see photos).

Do I just have to go out and buy a smaller sized "round over bit" because this one is too big? I didn't know that routers had a max bit size. If this is the case then I wasted my money on the router bit kit because half of the bits in the kit are the same size (too big).

Am I doing something wrong or is my assumption correct in that the bit is just too big and I have to buy a smaller router bit?
Attached Thumbnails
Router bit size too big for router? (Porter Cable 690LR)-img_4093.jpg   Router bit size too big for router? (Porter Cable 690LR)-img_4096.jpg   Router bit size too big for router? (Porter Cable 690LR)-img_4097.jpg   Router bit size too big for router? (Porter Cable 690LR)-img_4098.jpg  
HTFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2015, 09:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 1,871
Rewards Points: 1,742
Default


That's called a 'fixed base' meaning it's not a plunge router, but the position of the motor asssembly in the base should still have some up-down adjustment.

Still it's possible that you have a bit too big for a particular baseplate, it happens often. You can look at making your own baseplate from wood, 1/4" lexan, or buy an alternate baseplate, generic or PC, or take yours off the router and enlarge the center hole.
ChuckF. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ChuckF. For This Useful Post:
47_47 (12-01-2015), oh'mike (12-02-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2015, 08:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 2,444
Rewards Points: 144
Default


The baseplates in those PC routers are sized to accept a PC bushing set for doing things like inlay and template work.That is why the recess is there.



As stated above you will need to make or buy an aftermarket baseplate to use your cutters.I have found Lexan to be the best material for this but have made them from 1/4" Baltic birch ply or plexi.
mako1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2015, 11:21 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 4,064
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default


something like this is what you need.

http://patwarner.com/selecting_subbase.html
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Canarywood1 For This Useful Post:
1acre (12-02-2015)
Old 12-02-2015, 07:28 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 5,606
Rewards Points: 6,236
Default


Something not right that router comes with 1/4 and 1/2" collets there is no way it should not take a bit that small. A 3/8 roundover is not a big bit. On 690s you remove the motor, install the bit then when you re-install the motor you adjust the height of the bit by twisting the motor.
__________________
Entering your general location can help with answering a lot of times
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 08:29 AM   #6
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 7,174
Default


Yep---you need to modify the base plate or better yet buy another with a larger diameter opening.

I rarely use the rub collars so most of my PCs have had the holes enlarged.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 07:10 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 579
Rewards Points: 520
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by HTFreak View Post
I have this router:

http://www.amazon.com/PORTER-CABLE-6...308f1e40c6ca28

and I have this router bit set:

http://www.amazon.com/MLCS-8377-15-P...E3E5PH6XDWKWVR

I've been trying all night to get this "round over" bit (1/2" in size) to work with the router but it doesn't seem to "fit" because the router bit "head" won't go into the router base "center" hole. The bit gets tightened in and screwed in fine but when I then put the Router "base" on, the router bit is hanging too low because the router bit won't fit into the router "base" hole (see photos).

Do I just have to go out and buy a smaller sized "round over bit" because this one is too big? I didn't know that routers had a max bit size. If this is the case then I wasted my money on the router bit kit because half of the bits in the kit are the same size (too big).

Am I doing something wrong or is my assumption correct in that the bit is just too big and I have to buy a smaller router bit?

i have 2 pc 690's but with plunge base. and bits like that work fine, get a plunge base for that and it will work , or have the hole enlarged that it will work , should be a quick fix, pc 690's are good routers , have 6 routers and 4 tables not a record but it work's for me good luck
del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable size to bury for outbuilding subpanel? eholmes77 Electrical 14 11-10-2015 06:50 PM
Porter Cable Compound Miter Saw dust spout broke miamicuse Tools 7 09-06-2015 09:02 AM
Porter Cable FR350 bad driver blade? timp Tools 6 05-20-2009 05:04 PM
Porter Cable Combo kit JFD140 Tools 4 08-11-2007 07:57 PM
Framing Nailer (Porter Cable) Renovator Tools 2 04-26-2006 06:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts