Walls Or Floor First? - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Forum > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By mark sr
  • 1 Post By t.carpenter00
  • 1 Post By carpdad
  • 1 Post By joed

Old 06-26-2018, 07:48 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 82

walls or floor first?

Hello! So, this is probably a super simple question for most, but I'm a newbie so bare with me.

We are getting a pre-fab company to build and install wall, ceiling and roof elements onto a concrete slab, and then we will finish off the interior ourselves.

- should we build the interior walls first, and then the floor? Or floor first, then the interior walls?
- in either case, any tips on how to level the hallway floors to the bathroom floor so there's an even transition?
tambourinecactu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-26-2018, 07:55 AM   #2
retired painter

Rewards Points: 816

Re: walls or floor first?

If you mean finish floor - it goes in last, if you mean a subfloor - it goes in before the walls are erected.
mark sr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-26-2018, 08:18 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 4

Floors last.

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
tambourinecactu likes this.
t.carpenter00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-26-2018, 08:49 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark sr View Post
If you mean finish floor - it goes in last, if you mean a subfloor - it goes in before the walls are erected.
Ok so order might be:

1. concrete slab
2. wall, ceiling, roof elements,
3. subfloor
4. internal walls
5. gypsum wall covers?
6. finish floors
7. bathroom tiles? - how to get these to line up level-wise with finish floors?
Old 06-26-2018, 09:05 AM   #5

Rewards Points: 250