Subpanel Grounding Question - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Forum > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-02-2017, 02:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

subpanel grounding question


I seem to get a little confused with subpanels and grounding.

There is a 200 amp breaker at the meter. The house will be about 100' away from there. The panel in the home, I guess will act as a subpanel. So my question comes with the grounding of the subpanel in the house.

Will I run 4 wires from the main? I plan to use a ufer ground at the house. Is this necessary if I run a ground back to the main? If there is an option between the two, which is better? I understand the grounds and neutrals must not be bonded at the sub, but if I don't run a ground wire back to the main, can I treat the panel at the house as a main, and bond the neutrals and grounds, given that I am using a ufer ground at the house.

I don't really have a preference but just looking for the recommended way of doing it. There are no inspections required in this area. Thanks guys!
carlhue is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2017, 03:00 PM   #2
Naildriver
 
chandler48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Young Harris, Georgia
Posts: 8,315
Rewards Points: 1,258
Default

Re: subpanel grounding question


The main along with all the sub panels will be grounded separately. No need to run a separate bare ground between the two. The 4th wire in your cable will handle that. Local ordinances may require you to have two grounding rods connected from the grounding buss in the main panel to each with a continuous conductor. As far as your UFER, they may only require one additional ground rod, attached to the sub panel in a like manner.
__________________
Larry......
Half of Communications is Listening, and You can't Listen with your Mouth.
chandler48 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chandler48 For This Useful Post:
carlhue (07-02-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2017, 03:09 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Re: subpanel grounding question


Thanks, that makes sense. I guess I wasn't sure if it was better to not run the 4th wire and keep the grounds separate- I don't really know why I wondered that, just a thought I had.
carlhue is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2017, 03:54 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,597
Rewards Points: 30,516
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: subpanel grounding question


You must run a four wire feed to the sub panel and keep the neutral and ground separate.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
carlhue (07-02-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about grounding my old main fuse panel cmarcus3031 Electrical 13 11-19-2014 03:16 PM
Grounding Question - Standard device/switch kbucci Electrical 11 10-29-2014 05:13 PM
Question on grounding main lug service rizzoa13 Electrical 38 06-22-2012 04:25 PM
yet another 3 wire range hookup question - grounding receptacle plate/box? rkg Electrical 7 04-03-2012 02:02 AM
Grounding electrode at subpanel Randell Tarin Electrical 18 02-01-2008 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts