Radon Mitigation Questions - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Forum > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-25-2017, 05:39 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 84

Radon Mitigation questions

My house was built in 1978. It has a full basement--a main floor--and a top floor. Please see pictures.

I have been monitoring the radon level ever since 2004. The level seems to be around 4 in the summer time but higher in the cold months--right now it is about 8 to 10 (the house is most always closed up--A/C in the summer and propane ventless heaters in the winter)

I am using a Corentium Digital Radon Detector at the present time.

My questions are:

1-Does a open flame ventless propane heater cause the reading to go up?

2-If I decide to install a mitigation system can I excavate from the outside either under or through the footing/foundation?

3-In one of the videos that I watched on YouTube they showed a hole being drilled into the basement floor (I have a full basement). They then showed a perforated plastic drain pipe under the floor that they indicated went all the way around the inside area of the floor. What if my house does not have that drain pipe? Would I just hollow out that area somewhat, where the hole was drilled in the floor? Would that be sufficient to remove the Radon gas from under the house? I assume that the house only has gravel under the concrete (BTW the house was built in 1978 and the concrete floor in the basement does not have any cracks anywhere).
Attached Thumbnails
Radon Mitigation questions-lower-elevation-labeled.jpg   Radon Mitigation questions-huse-labeled.jpg  
fred93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-26-2017, 09:01 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 877