Radon Mitigation - General DIY Discussions - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Forum > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-21-2017, 09:45 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,978
Rewards Points: 8,082
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


That fan should work fine. Pick up a u-tube manometer at the same time, you need that to tell you how well the fan is working, air flow is not the way to judge. HD should have them as well.

Bud
shobuddy likes this.
Bud9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bud9051 For This Useful Post:
shobuddy (11-21-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2017, 10:13 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud9051 View Post
That fan should work fine. Pick up a u-tube manometer at the same time, you need that to tell you how well the fan is working, air flow is not the way to judge. HD should have them as well.

Bud
Couldn't find a manometer on the Home Depot website but I was saw this one on Amazon...should work, right?
https://www.amazon.com/RadonAway-500.../dp/B00HYZ28I6
shobuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2017, 11:31 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,978
Rewards Points: 8,082
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


That manometer will do just fine. Be sure the fan is above the manometer wherever you install it.

Bud
shobuddy likes this.
Bud9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bud9051 For This Useful Post:
shobuddy (11-21-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2017, 12:39 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


Bud, got one more for you. Below is a excerpt from the contractor's email. Costs wise it sounds like the first option would be more expensive. In your opinion, which one should I choose?



Do you want to run a dedicated line from the Electric panel to the Radon Fan? (recommended)

-----this will require 70 feet of 14-2 wire and a breaker for the panel as well as an outlet box, duplex outlet and cover



Do you want to tap off a light fixture near the fan?

-----this will require 20-30 ft of 14-2 wire as well as an outlet box, duplex outlet and cover
shobuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2017, 12:48 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,978
Rewards Points: 8,082
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


That is more of a code question. As for proper function I believe either will work and a Radon fan is not a life or death issue. It will be so quiet the only way you will know it is running will be to occasionally check that manometer, or at least it should be quiet.

If for some reason you wish to flip the breaker to turn it off that would kill everything else using that circuit if it is not dedicated.

Bud
shobuddy likes this.
Bud9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bud9051 For This Useful Post:
shobuddy (11-21-2017)
Old 11-21-2017, 07:45 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud9051 View Post
That is more of a code question. As for proper function I believe either will work and a Radon fan is not a life or death issue. It will be so quiet the only way you will know it is running will be to occasionally check that manometer, or at least it should be quiet.

If for some reason you wish to flip the breaker to turn it off that would kill everything else using that circuit if it is not dedicated.

Bud
Thanks Bud, the contractor had recommended putting the fan in the basement itself but I talked to the code office and they said it has to be put in the attic.
shobuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 12:57 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud9051 View Post
That manometer will do just fine. Be sure the fan is above the manometer wherever you install it.

Bud
I've seen the need for a manometer mentioned many times but I have seen no mention of what the manometer should actually read for a proper installation i.e. is there a minimum or maximum inches of water reading?? I suppose a low reading might indicate too much slab leakage or at least that the fan is running and not plugged-off but OTOH a high reading may indicate there is little or no "contact" with some parts of the under-slab i.e. insufficient permeability in the sub-soil or gravel(?).
Laurie Forbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 06:53 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,978
Rewards Points: 8,082
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


The size of the fan, the initial radon reading, and the resulting reduction all get involved as well.

Bud
Bud9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 07:39 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


Regards the timer switch, here's an excerpt from the RadonAway installation manual:

"7. WARNING! Do not leave fan unit installed on system piping without electrical power for more than 48 hours. Fan failure could result from this non-operational storage."

http://www.radoncontrol.ca/assets/rp...structions.pdf

Anyone have any idea why that may be a problem?

Last edited by Laurie Forbes; 11-25-2017 at 07:43 PM.
Laurie Forbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 08:20 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,978
Rewards Points: 8,082
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


Just a guess, but when operating the fan benefits from air flow and the heat it generates along with the warmth passing through. This heat and air flow probably helps to keep unwanted moisture from getting into places it isn't wanted, although 48 hours sounds like an unreasonably short time.

Basically it is a CYA statement to prevent builders and home owners from just installing the fan and forgetting it so it will be there if needed. 5 years later you apply the power and it's dead and they don't want to hear any complaints.

Bud
Bud9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 08:23 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Re: Radon mitigation


I think that is a good guess alright.
Laurie Forbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold AND Radon mitigation boondocks95 General DIY Discussions 3 03-20-2016 03:10 PM
Side by side sump pit garrett1812 Plumbing 9 03-06-2016 09:24 AM
Radon soil gas, water w/radon, & other household air quality mitigation plans ylekyote HVAC 9 02-08-2016 04:46 PM
Radon Mitigation installed near AC Unit outside. Problem? majorchamp General DIY Discussions 16 06-30-2008 02:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts