Just Did My Own Home Inspection..found A Few Things. - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Forum > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-27-2014, 09:54 AM   #1
Lost..

Rewards Points: 354

Just did my own home inspection..found a few things.

I have a contract signed on a house I plan to buy and it is a very nice place in central Alabama. The house was built in 2009 and it's on about five acres.

We are very tight on money with the impending close, so instead of hiring out the inspection, I did it myself. I compiled a list from several different "do your own inspection" sites, and came up with my own ten pages. I was at the house about three hours last night. I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed doing it myself. I could definitely do it for a living or a side job.

There are some things I noted that I wanted to ask about here.

1. The house has a gas log fire place, typical of the kinds you find in new construction. It is not a dedicated chimney or anything like what you would find in the old brick construction wood burning fireplaces. It appears to have never been used. There is no propane tank outside, but that doesn't mean that it wasn't a lease and was picked up. The house has been sitting for about seven months. I did find these fittings in two places coming out of the house, and my best guess is that they're gas lines?

I also checked every outlet in the house with an outlet tester. Only one came up like this..reversed hot and neutral:

A further inspection of the main panel looked good. All wires are copper and nothing is over heating..per a temp gun. I did find this homemade double pole breaker..Although it works and apparently has been working for a while, I'm sure it really needs to be a dedicated double pole.