Gas Furnacce - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Forum > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-02-2013, 10:35 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Gas Furnacce


There is a 25 year old gas furnace in the house we rent. (The guy that owns the place claims there is NO problem at all. He said the igniter is brand new and working fine.)

It blows cold air for the first 10 minutes of each heating cycle.Then heat starts to appear fine.

I have had the furnace checked and the guy said it was fine ... that it was normal ...has new filter and new thermostat ... please can anyone help
englandmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2013, 11:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 5,606
Rewards Points: 6,236
Default


I live in Fla. and have a heat pump that does the same thing. Feels like the a/c is on then the heat is only lukewarm. Ask me if I like heat pumps.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2013, 01:57 PM   #3
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,985
Rewards Points: 1,652
Default


If the fan comes on too soon after the burners light up the heat exchanger will not be hot yet. Not a big issue as the furnace will still heat the house. The duct work could also be ice cold if it is in the attic or a well ventillated crawl space and not insulated. Technically, its his furnace and it is working so lots of luck getting him to spend money on it.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."

Last edited by PoleCat; 12-02-2013 at 01:59 PM. Reason: forgot meaningful word
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PoleCat For This Useful Post:
danpik (12-03-2013)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2013, 08:51 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,458
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default


If it has a new filter, it must be ok.
cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 07:32 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,660
Rewards Points: 1,332
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by englandmod View Post
It blows cold air for the first 10 minutes of each heating cycle.Then heat starts to appear fine.
Next time it comes on, put a thermometer in the air stream from the vents and see what the temp is. The blower comes on based on a temperature setting on a limit switch in the furnace. It may be the air stream is moving too fast and causing a draft that makes it feel chilly/colder. I would bet that the fan speed is either too high or the number of vents on the system is too few

Last edited by danpik; 12-03-2013 at 08:02 AM.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts