Correct Output Voltage? - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Forum > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-19-2015, 04:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Correct output voltage?


I have a 17 YO going on 18 YO Generac mdl: PP5000 (5000 running watts/6550 starting watts) brushless genset powered by a 10HP Tecumseh.

The generator ran through a 6-circuit transfer switch, which powered just the essentials, well pump, furnace, fridge and a few lights. This set-up worked ok but during extended power outages showering with ice-cold water in the winter wasn't exactly a joy.

I recently did away with the transfer switch in favor of an interlock breaker so I could managed the loads and choose which circuits I wanted to run and when i.e.: the electric water heater.

After fine tuning the generator it fluctuates between 121-124 volts output on L1 and L2 with no load @ 3650-3670 RPM and with the 3500 watt resistive load of the water heater it drops and fluctuates between 115-118 volts @ 3550-3570 RPM. I then pushed the generator a little more by adding another 1500 watt resistive load and the voltage dropped an fluctuated between 108-111 volts for both L1 and L2.

This appears to be the best I could dial it in and wanted to know if this sounds about right? Any info would be appreciated.

Bill
wml52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2015, 08:05 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 925
Rewards Points: 1,558
Default


yes it is ok, most appliance tolerates 120v +/-10% so down to 108v. you can boost no load voltage near 130v and still be ok
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2015, 08:46 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 22
Default


I would but I would have to increase the RPMs higher then I would be comfortable with.
wml52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2015, 09:42 AM   #4
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,610
Rewards Points: 30,542
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Increasing the RPMs increases the frequency above 60Hz not the voltage. You don't want that. The RPM needs to maintain at 3600,
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 12:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 22
Default


With my Genet increasing the RPMS increases both voltage and Hz. I didn't want to increase RPMS much above 3650 and run the chance of engine failure. I'm happy with the results and don't think I'm going to get it better then where it is now considering the age and the fact that it is self regulating no AVR.
wml52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Voltage Regulator/Stabilizers ThePeck Electrical 1 06-08-2014 10:33 PM
Low Voltage, Line voltage same gang box Joncombat Electrical 5 02-17-2014 08:28 PM
Comfortmaker RPJ2 igniter and transformer output Keith1394 HVAC 0 01-18-2012 10:11 PM
Circuit Board Failure due to High Voltage huyer HVAC 5 01-07-2012 06:07 AM
high voltage fire alarm jungboklee Electrical 3 01-26-2009 10:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts