Adding A Pull Up Bar In The Garage. - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Forum > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By SeniorSitizen
  • 1 Post By SPS-1
  • 1 Post By Chris616
  • 1 Post By Nealtw

Old 01-03-2020, 04:18 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 78

Adding a pull up bar in the garage.

I want to add a pull up bar in the house. I've tried those over the door ones, and they don't work well. I am going to add one in my garage. I think I should be able to make a great one, but this has the potential to go really bad, and I'm new to stuff like this, so hoping for some help.

* My plan is to use 3/4" galvanized pipe (humid south texas).
* I am going to get rid of the middle top bar (circled in red)
* It is going to be 48" wide or two 24" bars with a Tee in the middle going to the wall.
* It is going to be 18" from wall.
* Instead of using a tee and then an elbow like in the picture, I will use a 90 degree elbow with side outlet (combining those two) at the two ends of the bar.
* At the ceiling and wall between the flange and drywall would be a 2x6 x6' board for each that is a 72" long board. I figured this length would give me enough to connect to four of the 16" span studs, with a little extra on the ends.
* I was going to use either two or three lag screws, 5/16 x 3 1/2" at each stud on each board.
* I was planning on using some type of countersunk bolt from the back side (with the head between the board and the drywall, and lock washers with screws on the visible side connecting the flange to the board.
* I will predrill everything.

I have zero problem with overkill and trying to make sure this has no problem supporting lets just push it and say 300 pounds (me plus holding a lot of weight if I get back to that shape).

Am I missing something, Is this overkill, should I change something?? Thank you.